Tag Archives: Highway Song

In April 1979.

In April 1979, “Atco” label released “Strikes”, the third Blackfoot studio album. It was recorded 1978-1979, at “Subterranean Studio”, Ann Arbor, Michigan; “Sound Suite Studios” in Detroit, “Bee Jay Studios” in Orlando, Florida, and was produced by Al Nalli and Henry Weck. In 1986 the album was certified Platinum in the U.S. by the “RIIA”.


  • Rickey Medlocke- lead vocals, guitar
  • Charlie Hargrett – guitar
  • Greg T. Walker- bass guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Jakson Spires – drums, percussion, vocals
  • Pat McCaffrey – keyboards
  • Shorty Medlocke- harmonica
  • Cub Koda- harmonica
  • Donna D. Davis – backing vocals
  • Pamela T. Vincent – backing vocals
  • Cynthia M. Douglas – backing vocals
  • Henry “H-Bomb” Weck – percussion, recording engineer

Track listing:

  1. Road Fever – Rickey Medlocke
  2. I Got a Line on You– Randy California
  3. Left Turn on a Red Light – Rickey Medlocke, Jakson Spires
  4. Pay My Blues – Blues Image
  5. Baby Blue – Rickey Medlocke, Charlie Hargrett, Jakson Spires
  6. Wishing Well – Paul Rodgers, Paul Kossoff, Tetsu Yamauchi, John Bundrick, Simon Kirke
  7. Run and Hide – Rickey Medlocke, Jakson Spires
  8. Train Train (prelude) – Shorty Medlocke
  9. Train Train – Shorty Medlocke
  10. Highway Song – Rickey Medlocke, Jakson Spires


In March 1971.

In March 1971, “Capricorn” label released “Alex Taylor with Friends and Neighbors”, the debut Alex Taylor album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Capricorn Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin.


  • Alex Taylor- vocals
  • James Taylor- guitar
  • Scott Boyer- guitar, background vocals
  • Tommy Talton- guitar
  • Paul Hornsby- keyboards
  • Johnny Sandlin- bass
  • Peter Kowalke- guitar
  • Joe Rudd- guitar
  • Bill Stewart- drums
  • King Curtis- saxophone
  • Willie Bridges- saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber- saxophone
  • Frank Wess- saxophone
  • Daniel Moore- trumpet
  • William S. Fischer- conductor, string arrangements
  • Recording Engineer: Lewis Hahn, Jim Hawkins
  • Art Direction: Jimmy Roberts
  • Photography: Mickey Dobo
  • Executive Supervisor: Frank Fenter

Track listing:

  1. Highway Song – James Taylor
  2. Southern Kids – Scott Boyer
  3. All in Line – Tommy Talton
  4. Night Owl – James Taylor
  5. C Song – Scott Boyer
  6. It’s All Over Now – Bobby Womack, Shirley Womack
  7. Baby Ruth – Johnny Wyker
  8. Take Out Some Insurance – Charles Singleton
  9. Southbound – Dickey Betts

In February 1972.


In February 1972, “Grunt” label released “Burgers”, the third Hot Tuna album. It was recorded November – December 1971, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Jorma Kaukonen.


  • Jorma Kaukonen– guitars, lead vocals
  • Jack Casady– bass, vocals, eyebrow
  • Papa John Creach– violin, vocals
  • Sammy Piazza – drums, tympani, other percussion, vocals
  • Nick Buck – organ, piano
  • Richmond Talbott – vocals, slide guitar
  • David Crosby– vocals
  • The Unknown Engineer (Joe Lopes) – recording engineer
  • The Masked Mixer – mixer
  • Betty Cantor – mixer
  • Bruce Steinberg – design, photography
  • Allen Zentz – assistant engineer
  • The Mighty Maurice (Pat Ieraci) – assistant engineer

Track listing:

  1. True Religion – Jorma Kaukonen
  2. Highway Song – Jorma kaukonen
  3. 99 Year Blues – Julius Daniels
  4. Sea Child – Jorma Kaukonen
  5. Keep on Truckin’ – Bob Carleton
  6. Water Song – Jorma Kaukonen
  7. Ode for Billy Dean – Jorma Kaukonen
  8. Let Us Get Together Right Down Here – Rev. Gary Davies
  9. Sunny day Strut – Jorma Kaukonen

On March 16, 1971.


On March 16, 1971, “Warner Bros” label released “Mud Slide Slim and the Blue Horizon”, the third James Taylor studio album. It was recorded January – February 1971, at “Crystal Sound Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Peter Asher. In 1972, song “You’ve Got a Friend” received “Grammy Awards” for James Taylor for “Best Male Pop Vocal Performance” and for Carole King for “Song of the Year”.


  • James Taylor -vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Peter Asher- tambourine, backing vocals
  • Richard Greene- fiddle
  • Gail Haness – backing vocals
  • John Hartford- banjo
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Kevin Kelly – piano,accordion
  • Carole King- piano, backing vocals
  • Danny Kortchmar- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, congas
  • Russ Kunkel- drums, congas, tambourine, cabasa, cowbell, small cymbals
  • Andrew Love- tenor saxophone
  • Leland Sklar- bass
  • Steven Edney- backing vocals
  • Joni Mitchell- backing vocals
  • Kate Taylor- backing vocals
  • The Memphis Horns- horns

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Love Has Brought Me Around
  2. You’ve Got a Friend – Carole King
  3. Places in My Past
  4. Riding on a Railroad
  5. Soldiers
  6. Mud Slide Slim
  7. Hey Mister, That’s Me up on the Jukebox
  8. You Can Close Your Eyes
  9. Machine Gun Kelly – Danny Kortchmar
  10. Long Ago and Far Away
  11. Let Me Ride
  12. Highway Song
  13. Isn’t It Nice to Be Home Again