On March 16, 1971.


On March 16, 1971, “Warner Bros” label released “Mud Slide Slim and the Blue Horizon”, the third James Taylor studio album. It was recorded in January and February 1971, at “Crystal Sound Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Peter Asher. In 1972, song “You’ve Got a Friend” received “Grammy Awards” for James Taylor for “Best Male Pop Vocal Performance” and for Carole King for “Song of the Year”.


  • James Taylor -acoustic guitar, piano, vocals
  • Peter Asher- tambourine, backing vocals
  • Richard Greene- fiddle
  • Gail Haness – backing vocals
  • John Hartford- banjo
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Kevin Kelly – piano,accordion
  • Carole King- piano, backing vocals
  • Danny Kortchmar- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, congas
  • Russ Kunkel- drums, congas, tambourine, cabasa, cowbell, small cymbals
  • Andrew Love- tenor saxophone
  • Leland Sklar- bass
  • Steven Edney- backing vocals
  • Joni Mitchell- backing vocals
  • Kate Taylor- backing vocals
  • The Memphis Horns- horns

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor, except where noted.

  1. Love Has Brought Me Around
  2. You’ve Got a Friend – Carole King
  3. Places in My Past
  4. Riding on a Railroad
  5. Soldiers
  6. Mud Slide Slim
  7. Hey Mister, That’s Me up on the Jukebox
  8. You Can Close Your Eyes
  9. Machine Gun Kelly – Danny Kortchmar
  10. Long Ago and Far Away
  11. Let Me Ride
  12. Highway Song
  13. Isn’t It Nice to Be Home Again

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.