In March 1971.

In March 1971, “Capricorn” label released “Alex Taylor with Friends and Neighbors”, the debut Alex Taylor album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Capricorn Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin.


  • Alex Taylor- vocals
  • James Taylor- guitar
  • Scott Boyer- guitar, background vocals
  • Tommy Talton- guitar
  • Paul Hornsby- keyboards
  • Johnny Sandlin- bass
  • Peter Kowalke- guitar
  • Joe Rudd- guitar
  • Bill Stewart- drums
  • King Curtis- saxophone
  • Willie Bridges- saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber- saxophone
  • Frank Wess- saxophone
  • Daniel Moore- trumpet
  • William S. Fischer- conductor, string arrangements
  • Recording Engineer: Lewis Hahn, Jim Hawkins
  • Art Direction: Jimmy Roberts
  • Photography: Mickey Dobo
  • Executive Supervisor: Frank Fenter

Track listing:

  1. Highway Song – James Taylor
  2. Southern Kids – Scott Boyer
  3. All in Line – Tommy Talton
  4. Night Owl – James Taylor
  5. C Song – Scott Boyer
  6. It’s All Over Now – Bobby Womack, Shirley Womack
  7. Baby Ruth – Johnny Wyker
  8. Take Out Some Insurance – Charles Singleton
  9. Southbound – Dickey Betts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.