On August 30, 1979.


On August 30, 1979, “Island” label released “5”, the fifth J J Cale album. It was recorded at the “Crazy Mama Studios”, Nashville, “The Lakehouse”;  “Old Hickory”; “Columbia Studios” and “Woodland Studios” in Nashville, and was produced by Audie Ashworth and J J Cale.


  • JJ Cale: guitars, bass, piano, drums, vocals
  • Christine Lakeland: voices, organ, rhythm guitar, percussion, piano
  • Billy Cox: bass
  • Carl Radle: bass
  • Nick Rather: bass
  • Karl Himmel: drums
  • Kenny Buttrey: drums
  • Buddy Harman: drums
  • Jimmy Karstein: drums, congas
  • David Briggs: piano
  • Larry Bell: electric piano, organ
  • Bill Boatman: electric and rhythm guitar, Fiddle
  • Bill Kenner: mandolin
  • Farrell Morris: vibes
  • Sherry Porter: voices
  • Shelly Kurland: strings
  • Carl Gorodetzy: strings
  • Roy Christensen: strings
  • Marv Chantry: strings
  • Cam Mullins: string arrangements
  • George Tidwell: horns
  • Don Sheffield: horns
  • Dennis Goode: horns
  • Terry Williams: horns

Track listing:

All tracks by J J Cale, except where noted.

  1. Thirteen Days
  2. Bolin’ Pot
  3. I’ll Make Love to You
  4. Don’t Cry Sister
  5. Too Much for Me
  6. Sensitive Kind
  7. Friday
  8. Lou-Easy-Ann
  9. Let’s Go to Tahiti – Bill Boatman, Roger Tilotson
  10. Katy Kool Lady – J J Cale, Christine Lakeland
  11. Fate of a Fool
  12. Mona



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.