Bill Laswell: Baselines

On June 14, 1983, “Elektra” label released “Baselines”, the debut Bill Laswell album. It was recorded in March 1982, at “OAO Studio” in Brooklyn, NY, and was produced by Material.


  • Bill Laswell – Ibanez 8-string, Fender 6-string, Fender Fretless Precision, Music Man Sting Ray, Steinberger bass
  • Michael Beinhorn – Prophet-5, synthesizer, shortwave, tape 
  • Ralph Carney – bass saxophone, contrabass clarinet
  • Fred Frith – guitar, violin
  • George Lewis – trombone
  • Ronald Shannon Jackson – drums
  • Martin Bisi – drums, percussion, recording
  • Phillip Wilson – drums 
  • David Moss – voice, steel drum, percussion
  • Daniel Ponce – congas 
  • Howie Weinberg – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Activate – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell
  2. Work Song – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell, George Lewis
  3. Hindsight – Martin Bisi, Bill Laswell
  4. Uprising – Bill Laswell
  5. Barricade – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell, George Lewis
  6. Upright Man – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell
  7. Moving Target – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell
  8. Lowlands – Michael Beinhorn, Bill Laswell
  9. Conservation – Bill Laswell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.