Tag Archives: Elliot Mazer

On August 1, 1983.

On August 1, 1983, “Geffen” label released “Everybody’s Rockin’”, the 13th Neil Young studio album. It was recorded April – May 1983, at “Modern Recorders” in Redwood City, California, and was produced by Elliot Mazer and Neil Young.


  • Neil Young – vocals, piano, guitar, harmonica

The Shocking Pinks

  • Larry Byrom– piano, backing vocals
  • Anthony Crawford– backing vocals
  • Tim Drummond– upright bass
  • Karl Himmel – snare drum –
  • Ben Keith– alto saxophone, lead guitar
  • Rick Palombi – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. Betty Lou’s Got a New Pair of Shoes – Bobby Freeman
  2. Rainin’ in My Heart – Slim Harpo, Jerry West
  3. Payola Blues – Ben Keith, Neil Young
  4. Wonderin’
  5. Kinda Fonda Wanda – Tim Drummond, Neil Young
  6. Jellyroll Man
  7. Bright Lights, Big City – Jimmy Reed
  8. Cry, Cry, Cry
  9. Mystery Train – Junior Parker, Sam Phillips
  10. Everybody’s Rockin’

In November 1968.

In November 1968, “United Artists” label released “Back Here On Earth”, the fourth Gordon Lightfoot studio album. It was recorded in September 1968, at “Bradley’s Barn” in Mount Juliet, Tennessee, and was produced by Elliot Mazer.


  • Gordon Lightfoot – 6 & 12 string acoustic guitar
  • Red Shea – lead acoustic guitar
  • John Stockfish – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Gordon Lightfoot.

  1. Long Way Back Home
  2. Unsettled Ways
  3. Long Thin Dawn
  4. Bitter Green
  5. The Circle Is Small (I Can See It in Your Eyes)
  6. Marie Christine
  7. Cold Hands from New York
  8. Affair on 8th Avenue
  9. Don’t Beat Me Down
  10. The Gypsy
  11. If I Could

On June 13, 1977.


On June 13, 1977, “Reprise” label released “American Stars ‘n Bars”, the eighth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded December 1974-April 4, 1977, at  “Quadrafonic” in  Nashville;” Wally Heider Studios” in Hollywood, “Broken Arrow Ranch” in Redwood City, California, and “Indigo Recording Studio” in Malibu, and was produced by Neil Young, David Briggs, Tim Mulligan, and Elliot Mazer.


  • Neil Youn— vocals, guitars; harmonica, organ, piano, vibes, drums
  • Frank “Poncho” Sampedro— guitars, organ; backing vocals
  • Ben Keith— pedal steel guitar, dobro, backing vocal
  • Carole Mayedo —violin
  • Billy Talbot— bass
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Ralph Molina— drums, backing vocals
  • Karl T. Himmel — drums
  • Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson — backing vocals
  • Emmylou Harris— harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. The Old Country Waltz
  2. Saddle Up the Palomino – Neil Young, Tim Drummond, Bobby Charles
  3. Hey Babe
  4. Hold Back the Tears
  5. Bite the Bullet
  6. Star of Bethlehem
  7. Will to Love
  8. Like a Hurricane
  9. Homegrown


On February 14, 1972.

Neil Young Harvest

On February 14, 1972, “Reprise” label released “Harvest”, the fourth Neil Young album.  It was recorded January – September 1971, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville; “Barking Town Hall” in London; “Royce Hall” at UCLA and “Broken Arrow Studio No. 2” in Woodside, and was produced by Neil Young, Elliot Mazer, Henry Lewy and  Jack Nitzsche. “Harvest” was the best-selling album of 1972 in the United States. in 1998, “Q” magazine readers voted “Harvest” the 64th greatest album of all time. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Harvest” at number 78 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Neil Young— acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, harmonica, lead vocals
  • Kenny Buttrey— drums
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Ben Keith— pedal steel guitar
  • Jack Nitzsche— piano, lap steel guitar, arrangements
  • John Harris — piano
  • Teddy Irwin — acoustic guitar
  • James McMahon — piano
  • James Taylor— banjo guitar, backing vocals
  • Linda Ronstadt— backing vocals
  • David Crosby— backing vocals
  • Stephen Stills— backing vocals
  • Graham Nash— backing vocals
  • London Symphony Orchestra— orchestrations

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young.

  1. Out on the Weekend
  2. Harvest
  3. A Man Needs a Maid
  4. Heart of Gold
  5. Are You Ready for the Country?
  6. Old Man
  7. There’s a World
  8. Alabama
  9. The Needle and the Damage Done
  10. Words