On June 13, 1977.


On June 13, 1977, “Reprise” label released “American Stars ‘n Bars”, the eighth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded December 1974-April 4, 1977, at  “Quadrafonic” in  Nashville;” Wally Heider Studios” in Hollywood, “Broken Arrow Ranch” in Redwood City, California, and “Indigo Recording Studio” in Malibu, and was produced by Neil Young, David Briggs, Tim Mulligan, and Elliot Mazer.


  • Neil Youn— vocals, guitars; harmonica, organ, piano, vibes, drums
  • Frank “Poncho” Sampedro— guitars, organ; backing vocals
  • Ben Keith— pedal steel guitar, dobro, backing vocal
  • Carole Mayedo —violin
  • Billy Talbot— bass
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Ralph Molina— drums, backing vocals
  • Karl T. Himmel — drums
  • Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson — backing vocals
  • Emmylou Harris— harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. The Old Country Waltz
  2. Saddle Up the Palomino – Neil Young, Tim Drummond, Bobby Charles
  3. Hey Babe
  4. Hold Back the Tears
  5. Bite the Bullet
  6. Star of Bethlehem
  7. Will to Love
  8. Like a Hurricane
  9. Homegrown


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.