Tag Archives: Down the Road

In February 1978.

In February 1978, “Mercury” label released “Street Action”, the seventh Bachman–Turner Overdrive (BTO) studio album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Robbie Bachman, Jim Clench, Blair Thornton and C.F. Turner.


  • Robbie Bachman- percussion, drums
  • Jim Clench- bass, electric bass, vocals
  • Blair Thornton- lead guitar, electric guitar
  • F. Turner- guitar, electric guitar, vocals
  • Rolf Henneman – engineer
  • Jeff Tolman – assistant engineer
  • James Omara – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Robbie Bachman, Jim Clench, Blair Thornton and C.F. Turner.

  1. I’m in Love
  2. Down the Road
  3. Takes a Lot of People
  4. A Long Time for a Little While
  5. Street Action
  6. For Love
  7. Madison Avenue
  8. You’re Gonna Miss Me
  9. The World Is Waiting for a Love Song

In August 1974.

In August 1974, “Warner Bros” label released “Feats Don’t Fail Me Now”, the fourth Little Feat studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Blue Seas Recording Studio” in Hunt Valley, Maryland; “The Sound Factory” in Los Angeles”; “Warner Bros. Recording Studios” and Sunset Sound” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lowell George and Van Dyke Parks.


  • Lowell George- vocals, guitar
  • Paul Barrère- guitar, vocals
  • Sam Clayton- percussion, vocals
  • Kenny Gradney- bass
  • Richie Hayward- drums, vocals
  • Bill Payne- keyboards, vocals
  • Gordon DeWitty – clavinet
  • Fred White- drums
  • Emmylou Harris, Bonnie Raitt, Fran Tate – backing vocals
  • Tower Of Power- horns

Track listing:

  1. Rock & Roll Doctor – Lowell George, Fred Martin
  2. Oh Atlanta – Bill Payne
  3. Skin it Back – Paul Barrère
  4. Down the Road – Lowell George
  5. Spanish Moon – Lowell George
  6. Feats Don’t Fail Me Now – Paul Barrère, Lowell George, Martin Kibbee
  7. The Fan – Lowell George, Bill Payne
  8. Medley: Cold Cold Cold/Tripe Face Boogie – Lowell George, Richie Hayward, Bill Payne


In July 1976.

In July 1976, “Polydor” label released “Child in Time”, the debut Ian Gillan Band album. It was recorded December 1975 – January 1976, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Roger Glover.


  • Ian Gillan– vocals, harmonica
  • Ray Fenwick– guitars, slide guitar, vocals
  • John Gustafson– bass guitar, vocals
  • Mark Nauseef– drums, percussion
  • Mike Moran– Fender Rhodes, Hohner Clavinet, Hammond organ, ARP 2600, piano, ARP string ensemble
  • Roger Glover– synthesizer (ARP 2600), kalimba, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Lay Me Down – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson
  2. You Make Me Feel So Good – Ian Gillan, Mike Moran, Dave Wintour, Bernie Holland, Andy Steele
  3. Shame – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson
  4. My Baby Loves Me – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, Roger Glover
  5. Down the Road – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson, Roger Glover
  6. Child in Time – Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice
  7. Let It Slide – Ian Gillan, Ray Fenwick, Mark Nauseef, John Gustafson, Mike Moran


On May 14, 2002.

Van Morrison_Down the Road_

On May 14, 2002, “Universal” label release “Down the Road”, the twenty-ninth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 2000 –  2001, “Wool Hall”  in Bath, Somerset, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison- acoustic guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone, vocals
  • John Allair -Hammond organ
  • Crawford Bell -background vocals
  • Olwin Bell – background vocals
  • Acker Bilk- clarinet
  • Richard Dunn -piano, Hammond organ
  • Lee Goodall -tenor, alto and baritone saxophones, flute, background vocals
  • Mick Green- acoustic and electric guitars
  • Colin Griffin -drums
  • Karen Hamill – background vocals
  • David Hayes- bass guitar, double bass
  • Matt Holland -trumpet, flugelhorn, background vocals
  • Pete Hurley – bass guitar
  • Bobby Irwin – drums
  • Bob Loveday -violin
  • Siobhan Pettit – background vocals
  • Johnny Scott – electric guitar, background vocals
  • Fiachra Trench- piano
  • Jake Walker -viola
  • Geraint Watkins- piano, Hammond organ
  • Rosie Wetters -cello, string section leader
  • Aine Whelan – background vocals
  • Martin Winning – clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Stuart Bruce – engineer
  • Tim Cooper – mastering
  • Walter Samuel – engineer, mixing
  • Ben Sidran- liner notes
  • Peter Thorpe – photography
  • Johnny Scott, Aine Whelan – vocal arrangement
  • Fiachra Trench- string arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison, except where noted.

  1. Down the Road
  2. Meet Me in the Indian Summer
  3. Steal My Heart Away
  4. Hey Mr. DJ
  5. Talk Is Cheap
  6. Choppin’ Wood
  7. What Makes the Irish Heart Beat
  8. All Work and No Play
  9. Whatever Happened to P.J. Proby?
  10. The Beauty of the Days Gone By
  11. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  12. Only a Dream
  13. Man Has to Struggle
  14. Evening Shadows – Acker Bilk, Van Morrison
  15. Fast Train

On April 23, 1973.

Down the roads

On April 23, 1973, “Atlantic” label released “Down the Road”, the second and last Manassas album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Stephen Stills, Chris Hillman and Dallas Taylor.


  • Stephen Stills – guitar, piano, bass, vocals
  • Dallas Taylor- drums
  • Chris Hillman- guitar, bass, mandolin, vocals
  • Joe Lala- percussion, vocals
  • Al Perkins- guitar, pedal steel guitar, banjo
  • Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuel – bass, vocals
  • Paul Harris- piano
  • Joe Walsh- slide guitar
  • Bobby Whitlock- keyboards
  • Sydney George – flute
  • Jerry Aiello – organ
  • Charlie Grimes – guitar
  • Guille Garcia, Lachy Espinol – percussion
  • Pat Arnold- vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Stephen Stills; except where noted.

  1. Isn’t It About Time
  2. Lies – Chris Hillman
  3. Pensamiento – Stephen Stills, Nelson Escoto
  4. So Many Times – Chris Hillman, Stephen Stills
  5. Business on the Street
  6. Do You Remember The Americans
  7. Down The Road
  8. City Junkies
  9. Guaguancó de Veró – Stephen Stills, Joe Lala
  10. Rollin’ My Stone – Stephen Stills, Calvin Samuel

On March 5, 1986.

Steve Earl - Guitar Townjpg

On March 5, 1986, “MCA” label released “Guitar Town”, the debut Steve Earle album. It was recorded 1985 -1986, at “Sound Stage Studio” in Nashville, and was produced by Emory Gordy, Jr., Tony Brown and Richard Bennett.


  • Steve Earle– guitar, vocals
  • Bucky Baxter– pedal steel guitar, guitar
  • Richard Bennett– guitar, 6-string bass, slap bass
  • Ken Moore – organ, synthesizer, keyboards
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.– bass, mandolin
  • Harry Stinson – drums, vocals
  • Reno Kling – bass
  • Michael McAdam – guitar
  • Paul Franklin– pedal steel guitar
  • John Barlow Jarvis– synthesizer, piano
  • Steve Nathan – synthesizer

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Earle, except where noted.

  1. Guitar Town
  2. Goodbye’s All We’ve Got Left
  3. Hillbilly Highway – Steve Earle, Jimbeau Hinson
  4. Good Ol’ Boy (Gettin’ Tough) – Steve Earle, Richard Bennett
  5. My Old Friend the Blues
  6. Someday
  7. Think It Over – Richard Bennett, Steve Earle
  8. Fearless Heart
  9. Little Rock ‘n’ Roller
  10. Down the Road – Tony Brown, Steve Earle, Jimbeau Hinson