On May 14, 2002.

Van Morrison_Down the Road_

On May 14, 2002, “Universal” label release “Down the Road”, the twenty-ninth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 2000 –  2001, “Wool Hall”  in Bath, Somerset, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison – vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, alto saxophone
  • John Allair -Hammond organ
  • Mick Green- acoustic and electric guitars
  • Johnny Scott – electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Fiachra Trench- piano
  • Geraint Watkins- piano, Hammond organ
  • Richard Dunn -piano, Hammond organ
  • Pete Hurley – bass guitar
  • Bobby Irwin – drums
  • Colin Griffin -drums
  • Lee Goodall -tenor, alto and baritone saxophones, flute, backing vocals
  • Karen Hamill – backing vocals
  • David Hayes- bass guitar, double bass
  • Matt Holland -trumpet, flugelhorn, backing vocals
  • Acker Bilk- clarinet
  • Bob Loveday -violin
  • Jake Walker -viola
  • Rosie Wetters -cello, string section leader
  • Martin Winning – clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Crawford Bell -backging vocals
  • Olwin Bell – backing vocals
  • Aine Whelan – backing vocals
  • Siobhan Pettit – backing vocals
  • Johnny Scott, Aine Whelan – vocal arrangement
  • Fiachra Trench- string arrangement
  • Stuart Bruce – engineer
  • Tim Cooper – mastering
  • Walter Samuel – engineer, mixing
  • Ben Sidran- liner notes
  • Peter Thorpe – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison, except where noted.

  1. Down the Road
  2. Meet Me in the Indian Summer
  3. Steal My Heart Away
  4. Hey Mr. DJ
  5. Talk Is Cheap
  6. Choppin’ Wood
  7. What Makes the Irish Heart Beat
  8. All Work and No Play
  9. Whatever Happened to P.J. Proby?
  10. The Beauty of the Days Gone By
  11. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  12. Only a Dream
  13. Man Has to Struggle
  14. Evening Shadows – Acker Bilk, Van Morrison
  15. Fast Train

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.