All posts by mandevm

On October 23, 1970.


On October 23, 1970, “Bizzare” label released “Chunga’s Revenge”, the second Frank Zappa solo album. It was recorded July 1969 – August  1970, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– guitar, vocals, harpsichord, Condor, drums and percussions
  • Ian Underwood– organ, rhythm guitar, piano, electric piano, alto saxophone, pipe organ, electric alto saxophone with wah-wah pedal, tenor saxophone, grand piano
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums, tambourine
  • John Guerin– drums
  • Max Bennett– bass
  • Jeff Simmons– bass, vocals
  • George Duke– organ, electric piano, vocal sound effects , trombone
  • Howard Kaylan– vocals
  • Mark Volman– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– organ

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa

  1. Transylvania Boogie
  2. Road Ladies
  3. Twenty Small Cigars
  4. The Nancy & Mary Music
  5. Tell Me You Love Me
  6. Would You Go All The Way
  7. Chunga’s Revenge
  8. The Clap
  9. Rudy Wants to Buy Yez a Drink
  10. Sharleena




On October 22, 1990.

Pet Shop Boys - Behaviour

On October 22, 1990, “Parlaphone” label released “Behaviour”, the fourth Pet Shop Boys studio album.  It was recorded May – June 1990 at the “Red Deer” in Munich and “Sarm West” in London, and was produced by Harold Faltemeyer, Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe.

  • Neil Tennant– vocals, guitar
  • Chris Lowe– keyboards, programming, vocoder
  • Dominic Clarke – plastic tube
  • J. Belle, Johnny Marr– guitar
  • Angelo Badalamenti– orchestra arrangement and conduction
  • Alexander Bălănescu– string quartet arrangement
  • The Balanescu Quartet– strings
  • Jay Henry – additional vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe.

  1. Being Boring
  2. This Must Be the Place I Waited Years to Leave
  3. To Face the Truth
  4. How Can You Expect to Be Taken Seriously?
  5. Only the Wind
  6. My October Symphony
  7. So Hard
  8. Nervously
  9. The End of the World
  10. Jealousy


On October 22, 1970.


On October 22, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Miles Davis at Fillmore”, live album by Miles Davis. It was recorded on four consecutive days, from June 17 through June 20, 1970, at the “Fillmore East” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Miles Davis: trumpet
  • Steve Grossman: tenorand soprano sax
  • Chick Corea: Fender Rhodes electric piano
  • Keith Jarrett: electronic organ
  • Dave Holland: acousticand electric bass
  • Jack DeJohnette: drums
  • Airto Moreira: percussion, cuica

All tracks by Miles Davis.

  1. Wednesday Miles
  2. Thursday Miles
  3. Friday Miles
  4. Saturday Miles

On October 22, 1969.


On October 22, 1969, “Atlantic” label released “Led Zeppelin II”, the second Led Zeppelin studio album. It was recorded January – August 1969, at several locations in the United Kingdom and North America, and was produced by Jimmy Page. In 1989,  “Spin”  magazine ranked the album at number 5 on its list of “The 25 Greatest Albums of All Time”; in 2000, “Q” magazine ranked “Led Zeppelin II” at number 37 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”; in 2003, Rolling Stone” magazine the album at number 75 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time “Led Zeppelin II” was the band’s first album to reach number one in the UK and the US. “Led Zeppelin II” was ranked 4 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 9 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; 4 x Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 12× Platinum in the US by the “RIAA”.


  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica
  • John Bonham– drums, timpani
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, organ
  • Jimmy Page– electric and acoustic guitars, backing vocals, theremin

Track listing:

  1. Whole Lotta Love – John Bonham, Willie Dixon, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  2. What Is and What Should Never Be – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  3. The Lemon Song – John Bonham, Chester Burnett, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  4. Thank You – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  5. Heartbreaker – John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  6. Living Loving Maid – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  7. Ramble On – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  8. Moby Dick – John Bonham, John Paul Jones and Jimmy Page
  9. Bring It On Home – Willie Dixon


On October 21, 1985.

Once Upon a Time Simple Minds

On October 21, 1985, “Virgin” label released “Once Upon a Time”, the seventh Simple Minds studio album. It was recorded May 1985 at “The Town House”, in London, and was produced by Jimmy Iovine and Bob Clearmountain.


  • Jim Kerr– vocals
  • Charlie Burchill– guitar
  • Michael MacNeil– piano, synthesizer
  • Mel Gaynor– drums, vocals
  • John Giblin– bass
  • Carlos Alomar– backing vocals
  • Michael Beenof The Call – backing vocals
  • Robin Clark– vocals
  • Sue Hadjopoulos – percussion
  • Frank Simmsand George Simms of The Simms Brothers Band – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill and Mick MacNeil

  1. Once Upon a Time
  2. All the Things She Said
  3. Ghost Dancing
  4. Alive and Kicking
  5. Oh Jungleland
  6. I Wish You Were Here
  7. Sanctify Yourself
  8. Come a Long Way

On October 21, 1977.


On October 21, 1977, “Cleveland International” label released “Bat Out of Hell”, the second Meat Loaf studio album.  It was recorded 1975 – 1976, and was produced by Todd Rundgren. This album is the first Loaf’s collaboration with composer Jim Steinman and was produced by Todd Rundgren. “But Out of Hell” became not only the biggest Loaf’s commercial released success but is also one of the vest selling albums ever, with than 43 million copies sold worldwide. In 2003, magazine Rolling Stone ranked it at number 343 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Meat Loaf– lead vocals, backing vocals, percussion
  • Todd Rundgren– guitar, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Kasim Sulton– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Roy Bittan– piano, keyboards
  • Steve Margoshes – piano
  • Cheryl Hardwick – piano
  • Jim Steinman– keyboards, percussion , lascivious effects, dialogue intro
  • Roger Powell– synthesizer
  • Edgar Winter– saxophone
  • Max Weinberg– drums
  • John “Willie” Wilcox – drums
  • Marcia McClain – dialogue intro
  • Phil “Scooter” Rizzuto– play-by-play
  • Ellen Foley– featured vocal, backing vocals
  • Rory Dodd– backing vocals
  • Gene Orloff – concert master
  • Members of New York Philharmonicand Philadelphia Orchestra – orchestra
  • Kenneth Ascher– string arrangements
  • Steve Margoshes – orchestra arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Steinman.

  1. Bat Out of Hell
  2. You Took the Words Right Out of My Mouth
  3. Heaven Can Wait
  4. All Revved Up with No Place to Go
  5. Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad
  6. Paradise by the Dashboard Light
  7. For Crying Out Loud

On October 21, 1975.

Mike Oldfield Ommadawn

On October 21, 1975, “Virgin” label released “Ommadawn” the third Mike Oldfield studio album. It was recorded January – September 1975, and was produced by Mike Oldfield.


  • Mike Oldfield– guitars, bass, banjo, bouzouki, bodhrán, electronic organs, glockenspiel, harp,mandolin, percussion, tubular bells, piano, spinet, synthesizer, vocals
  • Herbie – Northumbrian bagpipes
  • Don Blakeson– trumpet
  • The Hereford City Band, conducted by Leslie Penning – brass
  • Jabula(Julian Bahula, Ernest Mothle, Lucky Ranku, Eddie Tatane) – African drums
  • Pierre Moerlen– timpani
  • Paddy Moloney– uilleann pipes
  • William Murray– percussion
  • Sally Oldfield– vocals
  • Terry Oldfield– panpipes
  • Leslie Penning– recorders
  • “The Penrhos Kids” (Abigail, Briony, Ivan and Jason Griffiths) – vocals
  • Clodagh Simonds– vocals
  • Bridget St John– vocals
  • David Strange– cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Oldfield, except where noted.

  1. Ommadawn, Part One
  2. Ommadawn, Part Two
  3. On Horseback