On August 14, 1971.

Whos next

On August 14, 1971, “Track” label released “Who’s Next”, the fifth Who studio album. It was recorded April -June 1971, at the “Olympic Studios” and “Stargroves” (Rolling Stones Mobile Studio)  in London, and was produced by Glyn Johns, Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend, John Entwistle and Keith Moon. The album was developed from Pete Townshend’s aborted multi-media rock opera “Lifehouse”, written as a follow-up to 1969 album “Tommy”. “Lifehouse” was cancelled due to its complexity and conflicts with band’s manager Kit Lambert, but Townshend was insisting to record the songs and they finally appeared as “Who’s next”, as a straightforward studio album.


  • Roger Daltrey– vocals
  • Pete Townshend– vocals, guitar, VCS3, organ, R.P. synthesiser, piano
  • John Entwistle– vocals, bass, brass, piano
  • Keith Moon– drums, percussion
  • Leslie West– lead guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Al Kooper– organ
  • Dave Arbus– violin

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except  where noted.

  1. Baba o’Riley
  2. Bargain
  3. Love Ain’t for Keeping
  4. My Wife – John Entwistle
  5. The Song is Over
  6. Getting it True
  7. Going Mobile
  8. Behind Blue Eyes
  9. Won’t Get Fooled Again

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.