Tag Archives: Buzz Gardner

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Straight” label released “Starsailor”, the sixth Tim Buckley studio album. It was recorded in September 1970, at “Whitney Studios” in Glendale, and was produced by Tim Buckley.


  • Tim Buckley– guitar, 12-string guitar, vocals
  • John Balkin – double bass, electric bass
  • Lee Underwood– guitar, piano, pipe organ
  • Buzz Gardner – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Maury Baker – percussion
  • Bunk Gardner– alto flute, tenor saxophone
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction, photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Larry Beckett, all music by Tim Buckley, except where noted.

  1. Come Here Woman – Tim Buckley
  2. I Woke Up
  3. Monterey
  4. Moulin Rouge
  5. Song to the Siren – Tim Buckley
  6. Jungle Fire – Tim Buckley
  7. Starsailor – John Balkin, Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley
  8. The Healing Festival – Tim Buckley
  9. Down by the Borderline – Tim Buckley

On February 9, 1970.


On February 9, 1970, “Bizarre” label released “Burnt Weeny Sandwich”, the ninth, Mothers of Invention album. It was recorded in August 1967 and July 1969, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa– organ, guitar, vocals, arranger
  • Jimmy Carl Black– percussion, drums
  • Roy Estrada– bass, backing vocals, Pachuco rap
  • Janet Ferguson – backing vocals
  • Bunk Gardner– horn, wind
  • Buzz Gardner- trumpet
  • Billy Mundi– drums
  • Lowell George– guitar, vocals
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– violin
  • Don Preston– bass, piano, keyboards
  • Jim Sherwood– guitar, vocals, wind
  • Art Tripp– drums, percussion
  • Ian Underwood– guitar, piano, keyboards, wind
  • John Balkin – bass, string bass
  • John Williams – designer
  • Cal Schenkel – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa except where noted.

  1. WPLJ (The Four Deuces)
  2. Igor’s Boogie, Phase One
  3. Overture to a Holiday in Berlin
  4. Theme from Burnt Weeny Sandwich
  5. Igor’s Boogie, Phase Two
  6. Holiday in Berlin, Full Blown
  7. Aybe Sea
  8. The Little House I Used to Live in

On August 10, 1970.


On August 10, 1970, “Bizarre” label released “Weasels Ripped My Flesh”, album by The Mothers of Invention. It was recorded December 1967 – August 1969 at various locations, and was produced by Frank Zappa. This is the second posthumous The Mothers of Invention album released after the band disbanded in 1969 (first one was Burnt Weeny sandwich). “Weasels ripped my flesh” which largely consists of live recordings. The cover art is created by “Neon Park”.


  • Frank Zappa– lead guitar, vocals
  • Jimmy Carl Black– drums
  • Ray Collins– vocals
  • Roy Estrada– bass, vocals
  • Bunk Gardner– tenor saxophone
  • Lowell George– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Don “Sugarcane” Harris– vocals, electric violin
  • Don Preston– organ, electronic effects
  • Buzz Gardner– trumpet and flugel horn
  • Motorhead Sherwood– baritone saxophone, snorks
  • Art Tripp– drums
  • Ian Underwood– alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa, except where noted.

  1. Didja Get Any Onya
  2. Directly from My Heart to You – Richard Wayne Penniman
  3. Prelude to the Afternoon of a Sexually Aroused Gas Mask
  4. Toads of the Short Forest
  5. Get a Little
  6. Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue
  7. Dwarf Nebula Processional March & Dwarf Nebula
  8. My Guitar Wants to Kill Your Mama
  9. Oh No
  10. The Orange County Lumber Truck
  11. Weasels Ripped My Flesh