Tag Archives: Tony Colton

In February 1970.


In February 1970, “B&C” label released the debut, self-titled Atomic Roooster album. It was recorded December 1969 – January 1970, and was produced by Vincent Crane, Nick Graham, Carl Palmer and Tony Colton.


  • Vincent Crane- Hammond organ, backing vocals, piano
  • Nick Graham- bass guitar, lead vocals, flute, guitar
  • Carl Palmer- drums, percussion, congas, glockenspiel

Track listing:

  1. Friday the 13th – Vincent Crane
  2. And So to Bed – Vincent Crane
  3. Broken Wings – John Mayall
  4. Before Tomorrow – Vincent Crane
  5. Banstead – Vincent Crane, Nick Graham, Carl Palmer
  6. L.Y. – Vincent Crane
  7. Winter – Vincent Crane
  8. Decline and Fall – Vincent Crane, Nick Graham, Carl Palmer

On July 24, 1970.


On July 24, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Time and a Word”, the second Yes studio album. It was recorded November 1969 – January 1970, at “Advision Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Colton.


  • Jon Anderson: lead vocals, percussion
  • Peter Banks: electricand acoustic guitars, vocals
  • Chris Squire: bass guitar, vocals
  • Tony Kaye: Hammond organ, piano
  • Bill Bruford: drums, percussion
  • David Foster: vocals

Track listing:

  1. No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed – Richie Havens
  2. Then – Jon Anderson
  3. Everydays – Stephen Stills
  4. Sweat Dreams – Jon Anderson, David Foster
  5. The Prophet – Jon Anderson, Chris Squire
  6. Clear Days – Jon Anderson
  7. Astral Traveler – Jon Anderson
  8. Time and Word – Jon Anderson, David Foster


On April 1, 1969.


On April 1, 1969, “Polydor” label released the debut self-titled Taste album. It was recorded in August 1968, at “De Lane Studios” in London, and was produced by Tony Colton.


  • Rory Gallagher- guitars, vocals, saxophone, harmonica
  • Richard “Charlie” McCracken – bass guitar
  • John Wilson- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Rory Gallagher, except where noted.

  1. Blister on the Moon
  2. Leavin’ Blues – Huddie Ledbetter, Rory Gallagher
  3. Sugar Mama- arr. Rory Gallagher
  4. Hail
  5. Born on the Wrong Side of Time
  6. Dual Carriageway Pain
  7. Same Old Story
  8. Catfish – arr. Rory Gallagher
  9. I’m Moving On – Hank Snow

On February 15, 1980.


On February 15, 1980, “F-Beat” label released “Get Happy!!”, the fourth Elvis Costello album, third one with the Attractions. It was recorded in October 1979, and was produced by Nick Lowe. Album sleeve was designed by “F-Beat” art director Barney Bubbles. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Get Happy” at number 11 of its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”. In 2012, “Slant”  magazine ranked the album at number 68 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitar, organ, all instruments on “New Amsterdam”
  • Steve Nieve– piano, organ
  • Bruce Thomas– bass, harmonica
  • Pete Thomas– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello except where noted.

  1. Love for Tender
  2. Opportunity
  3. The Imposter
  4. Secondary Modern
  5. King Horse
  6. Possession
  7. Man Called Uncle
  8. Clowntime Is Over
  9. New Amsterdam
  10. High Fidelity
  11. I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down – Homer Banks, Allen Jones
  12. Black & White World
  13. 5ive Gears in Reverse
  14. B Movie
  15. Motel Matches
  16. Human Touch
  17. Beaten to the Punch
  18. Temptation
  19. I Stand Accused – Tony Colton, Ray Smith
  20. Riot Act