Tag Archives: 100 greatest albums of the 1980s

On April 21, 1980.

Empty Glass

On April 21, 1980, “Atco” label released “Empty Glass”, the third Pete Townshend solo album, and his first one with original material. It was recorded 1979 – 1980, at “Eel Pie Studios” and “A.I.R. Studios” in London, and was produced by Chris Thomas and Pete Townshend. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 57, on its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”.


  • Pete Townshend: vocals, guitars, synths
  • John “Rabbit” Bundrick: “straight” keyboards
  • Simon Phillips: drums
  • James Asher: drums
  • Kenney Jones: drums
  • Mark Brzezicki: drums
  • Tony Butler: bass guitar
  • Raphael Rudd: brass arrangements
  • Peter Hope-Evans: harmonica
  • Ted Jensen- mastering engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend.

  1. Rough Boys
  2. I Am an Animal
  3. And I Moved
  4. Let My Love Open the Door
  5. Jools and Jim
  6. Keep on Working
  7. Cat’s in the Cupboard
  8. A Little is Enough
  9. Empty Glass
  10. Gonna Get Ya

On February 20, 1984.


On February 20, 1984, “Rough Trade” label released the debut, self-titled Smiths studio album. It was recorded in 1983 at “Pluto Studios” in Manchester, “Strawberry Studios” in Stockport, “Eden Studios” and “Matrix Studios” in London, and was produced by John Porter and The Smiths. Magazine ”Slant” ranked the album at number 51 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s”; in 1989, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “The Smiths” at number 22 on its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”, and in 2012, the album was ranked at number 472 on  magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was ranked at number 51 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of the “100 Best Debut Albums of All Time”. In 1997, ”The Smiths” was ranked at number 73 in The Guardian’s list “100 Best Albums Ever”.


  • Morrissey – vocals
  • Johnny Marr– guitars, harmonica
  • Andy Rourke– bass guitar
  • Mike Joyce– drums
  • Paul Carrack– keyboards
  • Annalisa Jablonska – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Morrissey and Johnny Marr.

  1. Reel Around the Fountain
  2. You’ve Got Everything Now
  3. Miserable Lie
  4. Pretty Girls Make Graves
  5. The Hand That Rocks the Cradle
  6. This Charming Man
  7. Still Ill
  8. Hand in Glove
  9. What Difference Does It Make?
  10. I Don’t Owe You Anything
  11. Suffer Little Children


On February 15, 1980.


On February 15, 1980, “F-Beat” label released “Get Happy!!”, the fourth Elvis Costello album, third one with the Attractions. It was recorded in October 1979, and was produced by Nick Lowe. Album sleeve was designed by “F-Beat” art director Barney Bubbles. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Get Happy” at number 11 of its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”. In 2012, “Slant”  magazine ranked the album at number 68 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitar, organ, all instruments on “New Amsterdam”
  • Steve Nieve– piano, organ
  • Bruce Thomas– bass, harmonica
  • Pete Thomas– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello except where noted.

  1. Love for Tender
  2. Opportunity
  3. The Imposter
  4. Secondary Modern
  5. King Horse
  6. Possession
  7. Man Called Uncle
  8. Clowntime Is Over
  9. New Amsterdam
  10. High Fidelity
  11. I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down – Homer Banks, Allen Jones
  12. Black & White World
  13. 5ive Gears in Reverse
  14. B Movie
  15. Motel Matches
  16. Human Touch
  17. Beaten to the Punch
  18. Temptation
  19. I Stand Accused – Tony Colton, Ray Smith
  20. Riot Act