In July 1957.

In July 1957, “King” label released “Triple Threat”, the debut Roland Kirk album. It was recorded in November 1956 in New York City.


  • Roland Kirk – tenor saxophone, manzello, flute, stritch
  • James Madison – piano
  • Carl Pruitt – bass
  • Henry Duncan – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Roland Kirk except where noted.

  1. Roland’s Theme
  2. Slow Groove
  3. Stormy Weather – Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  4. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington
  5. A La Carte
  6. Easy Living – Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin
  7. Triple Threat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.