On July 28, 1980.


On July 28, 1980, “Warner Bros” label released the self-titled debut Zapp album. It was recorded 1979-1980, in Detroit, Michigan, and was produced by Roger Troutman and Bootsy Collins. The album has been regarded as one of the definitive albums of early 80’s electronic funk, bringing the genre into mainstream attention.


  • Roger Troytman – vocals, guitars, keyboards, talking box, bass, harmonica, vibes
  • Greg Jackson, Terry Troutman, Bobby Glover, Jannetta Boyce, Marchelle Smith, Delores Smith – vocal
  • Bootsy Collins – guitars
  • Greg Jackson – keyboards
  • Terry Troutman – bass
  • Larry Troutman – conga drums
  • Lester Troutman – trap drums
  • Larry Troutman, Lester Troutman – percussion
  • Randy Wallace – saxophone

Track listing:

  1. More Bounce to the Ounce
  2. Freedom
  3. Brand New Player
  4. Funky Bounce
  5. Be Alright
  6. Coming Home


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.