Tag Archives: River of Love

In October 1974.

In October 1974, “Vertigo” label released “The Impossible Dream”, the third   Sensational Alex Harvey Band. It was recorded in 1974, at “Apple Studios” in London, and was produced by David Batchelor, Derek Wadsworth, Alex Harvey, Zal Cleminson, Chris Glen, Hugh McKenna and Ted McKenna.

  • Alex Harvey– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Zal Cleminson– guitar
  • Chris Glen– bass guitar
  • Hugh McKenna – keyboards, synthesizer
  • Ted McKenna– drums
  • Vicky Silva – guest vocals
  • London-Scottish TA Regiment (including John Gilligan) – drums, pipes
  • Martin Rushent, Dave “Cyrano” Langston – engineer
  • Keith Davis – cover illustration, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Alex Harvey and Hugh McKenna; except where noted.

  1. Hot City Symphony Part 1: Vambo
  2. Hot City Symphony Part 2: Man in the Jar – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, Alistair Cleminson
  3. River of Love
  4. Long Hair Music
  5. Hey – Alex Harvey, Zal Cleminson, Hugh McKenna
  6. Sergeant Fury – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, David Batchelor
  7. Weights Made of Lead – Alex Harvey
  8. Money Honey – Jesse Stone / The Impossible Dream – Mitch Leigh, Joe Darion
  9. Tomahawk Kid – Alex Harvey, Hugh McKenna, David Batchelor
  10. Anthem



In June 1973.

In June 1973, “RCA” label released “Farewell Andromeda”, the seventh John Denver album. It was recorded at “RCA Studio D” in New York City, and was produced by Milton Okun.


  • John Denver — guitar, vocals
  • Eric Weissberg— banjo, steel guitar
  • Jan Camp Garrett — mandolin, vocals
  • Victor Garrett — bass, vocals
  • Lawrence Gottlieb— steel guitar, vocals
  • Lee Holdridge— string arrangements
  • Michael Holmes — piano
  • Richard Kniss — bass
  • Herb Lovelle— drums
  • George Marge — woodwind
  • Frank Owens — piano
  • Paul Prestopino — guitar, autoharp
  • John Sommers — banjo, guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Toots Thielemans— harmonica
  • Don Wardell — Executive Producer
  • Bryan Bowers — autoharp
  • Chip Taylor, Steve Chapin, Bill Danoff, Taffy Danoff, Steve Mandell, Martine Habib, Campden Street Choir — vocals
  • Kris O’Connor – assistant producer
  • Acy R. Lehman – art director
  • Mark English – cover art


All tracks by John Denver; except where noted.

  1. I’d Rather Be a Cowboy (Lady’s Chains)
  2. Berkeley Woman – Bryan Bowers
  3. Please, Daddy (Don’t Get Drunk This Christmas) – Bill Danoff, Taffy Nivert
  4. Angel from Montgomery – John Prine
  5. River of Love – John Sommers
  6. Rocky Mountain Suite (Cold Nights in Canada)
  7. Whiskey Basin Blues
  8. Sweet Misery – Hoyt Axton
  9. Zachary and Jennifer
  10. We Don’t Live Here No More – Bill Danoff
  11. Farewell Andromeda (Welcome To My Morning)