Tag Archives: Philips Studios

In December 1970.

In December 1970, “Fly” label released “Looking On”, the third Move album. It was recorded May – September 1970, at “Advision Studios” and “Philips Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Wood and Jeff Lynne. “Looking On” was band’s first album containing entirely original compositions, and the first one to feature Jeff Lynne.


  • Roy Wood- vocals, oboe, sitar, banjo, slide guitar, cello, guitars, bass, saxophones
  • Jeff Lynne- vocals, piano, guitars, percussion, drums
  • Bev Bevan– drums, percussion
  • Rick Price– bass
  • P. Arnold, Doris Troy— backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Looking On – Roy Wood
  2. Turkish Tram Conductor Blues – Roy Wood
  3. What? – Jeff Lynne
  4. When Alice Comes Back to the Farm – Roy Wood
  5. Open Up Said the World at the Door – Jeff Lynne
  6. Brontosaurus – Roy Wood
  7. Feel Too Good – Roy Wood



In December 1965.

In December 1965, “Fontana” label released “Get the Picture?”, the second Pretty Things studio album. It was recorded in 1965, at “Philips Studios” in London, and was produced by Bobby Graham and Glyn Johns.


  • Phil May– vocals
  • Dick Taylor– lead guitar
  • Brian Pendleton– rhythm guitar
  • John Stax – bass
  • Viv Prince, Bobby Graham, Twink– drums

Track listing:

  1. You Don’t Believe Me – Phil May, Bobby Graham, Jimmy Page, Willie Morrell
  2. Buzz the Jerk – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  3. Get the Picture? – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  4. Can’t Stand the Pain – Phil May, Dick Taylor, Bobby Graham
  5. Rainin’ in My Heart – James Moore, Jerry West
  6. We’ll Play House – Phil May, Dick Taylor
  7. You’ll Never Do It, Baby – Brian Smith, Terry Fox
  8. I Had a Dream – Jimmy Witherspoon
  9. I Want Your Love -Johnnie Dee, Johnny Tarr
  10. London Town – Tim Hardin
  11. Cry to Me – Bert Russell
  12. Gonna Find Me a Substitute – Ike Turner

In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Polydor” label released the debut, self-titled Os Mutantes album. It was recorded December 1967-January 1968, at “Philips Studios” in Brazil, and was produced by Manoel Barenbein. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 9 on its list of the “10 Greatest Latin Albums of All Time”, and on number 9 on the list of the “100 Greatest Brazilian Albums of All Time”. “Mojo” magazine ranked the album at number 12 on its list of the “50 Most Out-There Albums of All Time”.


  • Rita Lee- vocals, recorder, autoharp, percussion
  • Sérgio Dias- vocals, guitars
  • Arnaldo Baptista- vocals, keyboards, bass
  • Dirceu: drums
  • Jorge Ben: vocals and acoustic guitar
  • César Baptista: vocals
  • Clarisse Leite: piano
  • Cláudio Baptista: electronics
  • Gilberto Gil: percussion
  • Rogério Duprat: arrangement

Track listing:

All tracks by Arnaldo Baptista, Rita Lee and Sérgio Dias except where noted.

  1. Panis et Circenses – Gilberto Gil, Caetano Veloso
  2. A Minha Menina – Jorge Ben
  3. O Relógio
  4. Adeus, Maria Fulô – Sivuca, Humberto Teixeira
  5. Baby – Caetano Veloso
  6. Senhor F
  7. Bat Macumba – Gilberto Gil, Caetano Veloso
  8. Le premier bonheur du jou – Franck Gérald, Jean Renard
  9. Trem Fantasma – Caetano Veloso, Arnaldo Baptista, Rita Lee, Sérgio Dias
  10. Tempo no Tempo – John Phillips- Version: Arnaldo Baptista, Rita Lee, Sérgio Dias
  11. Ave Genghis Khan



On October 8, 1971.


On October 8, 1971, “Harvest” label released “Message from the Country” the fourth and last The Move album. It was recorded 1970 – 1971, at “Olympic Studios” and “Philips Studios” in London, and was produced by Roy Wood and Jeff Lynne.


  • Roy Wood– lead and backing vocals, guitars, steel guitar,  recorders,  bass, clarinet, bassoon, tenor and baritone saxes
  • Jeff Lynne– lead and backing vocals, guitars, piano, percussion, Wurlitzer electric piano, tack piano, Moog
  • Bev Bevan– drums, percussion, backing vocals, lead vocal
  • Rick Price– bass

Track listing:

  1. Message from the Country – Jeff Lynne
  2. Ella James – Roy Wood
  3. No Time – Jeff Lynne
  4. Don’t Mess Me Up – Bev Bevan
  5. Until Your Mama’s Gone – Roy Wood
  6. It Wasn’t My Idea to Dance – Roy Wood
  7. The Minister – Jeff Lynne
  8. Ben Crawley Steel Company – Roy Wood
  9. The Words of Aaron – Jeff Lynne
  10. My Marge – Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood