Tag Archives: Fine Time

In November 1975.

In November 1975,  “Island” label released “Pressure Drop”, the second Robert Palmer studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Blue Seas Studio” in Hunt Valley, Maryland, and was produced by Steve Smith.


  • Robert Palmer– vocals, percussion
  • Lowell George– guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Paul Barrere– guitar, backing vocals
  • Richie Hayward– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Kenny Gradney, James Jamerson– bass
  • Ed Greene– drums, percussion
  • Jean Alain Roussel– clavinet, keyboards, Hammond B-3
  • Gordon DeWitty – clavinet
  • Gene Page– strings
  • The Muscle Shoals Horns– horns
  • Mel Collins– saxophones, flute
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpet, flageolet
  • Ray Allen – trombone
  • Vicki Brown, Fran Tate, Sam Clayton – backing vocals
  • David Snell – harp
  • Joe Brown– banjo
  • Steve York – harmonica
  • Martin Frye – tuba
  • Phill Brown– engineering
  • Graham Hughes – cover concept, design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Palmer except where noted.

  1. Give Me an Inch
  2. Work to Make It Work
  3. Back in My Arms
  4. River Boat – Allen Toussaint
  5. Pressure Drop – Frederick Hibbert
  6. Here with You Tonight – Robert Palmer, Pete Gage
  7. Trouble – Lowell George
  8. Fine Time
  9. Which of Us Is the Fool

On January 30, 1989.


On January 30, 1989, “Factory” label released “Technique”, the fifth New Order studio album.  It was recorded in 1988, at “Mediterranean Studios” in Ibiza and “Real World Studios”, and was produced by New Order. In 2013 “NME” ranked “Technique” at number 122 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2006 “Q” magazine ranked the album at No. 21 on its list of the “40 Best Albums of the ’80s”.


  • Bernard Sumner– vocals, guitars, melodica, synthesizers and programming
  • Peter Hook– bass, electronic percussion, synthesizers and programming
  • Stephen Morris– drums, synthesizers and programming
  • Gillian Gilbert– synthesizers and programming, guitars
  • Trevor Key – cover design
  • Peter Saville– cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by New Order except where noted.

  1. Fine Time
  2. All the Way
  3. Love Less
  4. Round & Round
  5. Guilty Painter
  6. Run
  7. Disco
  8. Vanishing Point
  9. Dream Attack