Tag Archives: Alex Silva

On September 16, 2013.

On September 16, 2013, “Columbia” label released “Rewind the Film”, the eleventh Manic Street Preachers album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Faster Studios” in Cardiff, Wales, “Rockfield Studios” in Monmouthshire, Wales, “Hansa Studios” in Berlin, Germany, and was produced by Alex Silva, Loz Williams, James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire, and Sean Moore.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead vocals, lead, and rhythm guitar
  • Nicky Wire– bass guitar, vocals
  • Sean Moore– drums
  • Cate Le Bon– lead vocals
  • Lucy Rose– vocal
  • Loz Williams – keyboards, engineering, mixing
  • Gavin Fitzjohn– horn arrangement, baritone and tenor saxophone, trumpet
  • John Rey – piano
  • Richard Hawley– lead vocals, Hawaiian guitar
  • Andy Walters, Joanna Walters – violin
  • Barnard Kane – viola
  • Nathan Stone – cello
  • Tim Tautorat – celeste, string arrangement, violin, keyboards
  • Sean Read – horn arrangement, trumpets, saxophone
  • Nick Nasmyth – keyboards
  • Dave Eringa– mixing
  • Guy Massey – mixing
  • Tim Young – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks are written by James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore except where noted.

  1. This Sullen Welsh Heart
  2. Show Me the Wonder
  3. Rewind the Film – James Dean Bradfield, Nick Jones, Sean Moore, David Axelrod
  4. Builder of Routines
  5. 4 Lonely Roads
  6. (I Miss the) Tokyo Skyline
  7. Anthem for a Lost Cause
  8. As Holy as the Soil (That Buries Your Skin)
  9. 3 Ways to See Despair
  10. Running Out of Fantasy
  11. Manorbier
  12. 30-Year War

On July 7, 2014.

On July 7, 2014, “Columbia” label released “Futurology”, the twelfth Manic Street Preachers studio album. It was recorded in 2014, at “Faster Studios” in Cardiff, Wales, “Hansa Studios” in Berlin, and was produced by Alex Silva and Loz Williams.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead vocals, lead and acoustic guitars, drums, bass, keyboards, percussion, vision
  • Nicky Wire– vocals, bass guitar, baritone guitar, electric and acoustic guitars, omnichord, drum programming, percussion, noise
  • Sean Moore– drums, soundscapes, machines, guitar, sequencers, percussion, tympani, technology
  • Loz Williams – keyboards
  • Cian Ciaran– keyboards
  • Cate Le Bon– backing vocals
  • Gavin Fitzjohn– backing vocals
  • Hawkline– backing vocals
  • Nina Hoss– vocals
  • Georgia Ruth– lead vocals, harp
  • Green Gartside– vocals
  • Nick Naysmith – keyboards
  • Rich Beak – tambourine
  • Berliner Kneipenchor – choral vocals
  • Tim Young – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Futurology
  2. Walk Me to the Bone
  3. Let’s Go to War
  4. The Next Jet to Leave Moscow
  5. Europa Geht Durch Mich
  6. Divine Youth
  7. Sex, Power, Love and Money
  8. Dreaming a City (Hughesovka)
  9. Black Squire
  10. Between the Clock and the Bed
  11. Misguided Missile
  12. The View from Stow Hill
  13. Mayakovsky

On July 24, 2006.

On July 24, 2006, “Columbia” label released “The Great Western”, the debut James Dean Bradfield album. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Dave Eringa, Guy Massey, Alex Silva and Greg Haver.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead and backing vocals, lead and rhythm guitar, bass guitar, drums
  • Alex Silva – bass guitar
  • Nick Nasmyth – keyboards
  • Nick Dewey – drums
  • Dafydd Ieuan– drums
  • Alistair Hamer (Sweet Billy Pilgrim) – drums
  • Greg Haver – drums, keyboards
  • Dave Eringa– keyboards
  • Padlock McKiernan – tin whistle, kazoo

Track listing:

All tracks by James Dean Bradfield, except where noted.

  1. That’s No Way to Tell a Lie
  2. An English Gentleman
  3. Bad Boys and Painkillers – Nicky Wire
  4. On Saturday Morning We Will Rule the World
  5. Run Romeo Run
  6. Still a Long Way to Go – James Dean Bradfield, John Niven
  7. Émigré – James Dean Bradfield, John Niven
  8. To See a Friend in Tears – Jacques Brel
  9. Say Hello to the Pope
  10. The Wrong Beginning
  11. Which Way to Kyffin

On February 3, 1997.

White On Blonde1

On February 3, 1997, “Mercury” label released “White on Blonde”, the fourth Texas studio album.  It was recorded 1994 – 1997, at “Chateau De La Rouge” in France, “The Church” in London, “Abbey Road Studios” and “Parklane Studios” in London, and was produced by Sharleen Spiteri, Ally McErlaine, Johnny McElhore, Eddie Campbell, Richard Hynd, Mike Hedges, Dave Stewart and Rae Christian.“White on Blonde” was band’s first number one, and became their biggest seller. It has been certified 6x Platinum by the “British Phonographic Industry”. In 1988, the album was voted the 86th greatest album of all time by “Q” magazine readers, and it was ranked at number 34 in “Q’s” “Best 50 Albums of Q’s Lifetime.”


  • Sharleen Spiteri– vocals, guitar
  • Ally McErlaine– guitar
  • Johnny McElhone– bass guitar
  • Eddie Campbell – keyboards
  • Richard Hynd – drums
  • Roger Ward – guitar
  • Paul Taylor –programming
  • Alex Silva, Terry Disley– programming, keyboards
  • Martin Greene – strings arrangement
  • Claire Miles, Anne Stephenson, Sally Herbert, Claire Orsler, Susan Dench, Gini Ball, Chris Pitsillide – strings
  • Steven Granville – backing vocals

Track lsiting:

  1. 34 (Introduction) – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  2. Say What You Want – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  3. Drawing Crazy Patterns – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  4. Gallo – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  5. Put Your Arms Around Me – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri, Dave Stewart, Robert Hodgens
  6. Insane – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  7. Black Eyed Boy – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri, Eddie Campbell, Richard Hynd, Robert Hodgens
  8. Polo Mint City – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  9. White on Blonde – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  10. Postcard – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri
  11. 28 (interlude)
  12. Ticket to Lie – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri, Robert Hodgens
  13. Good Advice – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri, Mark Rae, Steve Christian
  14. Breathless – Johnny McElhone, Sharleen Spiteri