Tag Archives: Dean Ween

On May 2, 2000,

On May 2, 2000, “Elektra” label released “White Pepper”, the seventh Ween studio album. It was recorded 1999 – 2000, and was produced by Christopher Shaw,


  • Gene Ween (Aaron Freeman) – vocals, guitar, percussion
  • Dean Ween (Michael Melchiondo Jr.) – vocals, guitar
  • Glenn McClelland – piano, keyboards
  • Dave Dreiwitz – vocals, bass, upright bass, trumpet, tuba, percussion
  • Claude Coleman Jr.  – drums
  • Chris Shaw – engineer, mixing
  • Danny Madorsky – assistant engineer
  • Phil Painson – assistant engineer
  • Damian Shannon – assistant engineer
  • Kirk Miller – live sound engineer
  • Howie Weinberg – mastering
  • Gregory Burke – art direction
  • Danny Clinch – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Aaron Freeman, Michael Melchiondo Jr., Glenn McClelland, Dave Dreiwitz and Claude Coleman Jr. 

  1. Exactly Where I’m At
  2. Flutes of Chi
  3. Even If You Don’t
  4. Bananas and Blow
  5. Stroker Ace
  6. Ice Castiles
  7. Back to Basom
  8. The Grobe
  9. Pandy Fackler
  10. Stay Forever
  11. Falling Out
  12. She’s Your Baby

On June 24, 1997.

On June 24, 1997, “Elektra” label released “The Mollusk”, the sixth Ween studio album. It was recorded 1995 – 1996, and was produced by Andrew Weiss.


  • Dean Ween- guitar, vocals, engineering
  • Gene Ween- guitar, vocals, engineering
  • Dave Dreiwitz- bass
  • Glenn McClelland- keyboards
  • Mean Ween – bass
  • Bill Fowler – guitar, bass
  • Kirk Miller – sound effects
  • Claude Coleman, Jr.- drums, perccusion, engineering
  • Juan Garcia – assistant engineering
  • Bill McNamera – assistant engineering
  • Steve Nebesney – assistant engineering
  • Mick Preston – assistant engineering
  • Ralph Smith – assistant engineering
  • Jim Woolsey – assistant engineering
  • Andrew Weiss- engineering, mixing
  • Peter Curzon – artwork
  • Tom Nichols – photography
  • Rupert Truman – photography
  • Sam Brooks – cover design
  • Finlay Cowan – cover design
  • Storm Thorgerson- cover design

Track listing:

  1. I’m Dancing in the Show Tonight
  2. The Mollusk
  3. Polka Dot Tail
  4. I’ll Be Your Jonny on the Spot
  5. Mutilated Lips
  6. The Blarney Stone
  7. It’s Gonna Be (Alright)
  8. The Golden Eel
  9. Cold Blows the Wind
  10. Pink Eye (On My Leg)
  11. Waving My Dick in the Wind
  12. Buckingham Green
  13. Ocean Man
  14. She Wanted to Leave (Reprise)


On August 27, 2002.


On August 27, 2002, “Interscope” label released “Songs for the Deaf”, the third Queens of the Stone Age studio album. It was recorded October–November 2001, March–June 2002, at “The Site” in San Rafael, California, “Conway Recording Studios”;“Barefoot” in Hollywood, and was produced by  Josh Homme, Adam Kasper and  Eric Valentine.The album features Foo Fighters and former Nirvana member Dave Grohl as a guest drummer. In 2008, “Songs for the Deaf” was certified Platinum in Europe by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry” (IFPI).


  • Josh Homme– vocals, guitar
  • Nick Oliveri– bass, vocals
  • Mark Lanegan– vocals
  • Dave Grohl– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Alain Johannes– e-bow, organ, piano, flamenco guitar, theremin, lap steel guitar
  • Natasha Shneider– e-bow, organ, piano, theremin
  • Gene Trautmann– drums
  • Dean Ween– guitar
  • Brendon McNichol– lead guitar
  • Chris Goss– guitar, keyboard, backing vocals
  • Paz Lenchantin– strings
  • Ana Lenchantin– strings
  • Molly McGuire– accordion
  • John Gove –horns
  • Kevin Porter – horns
  • Brad Kintscher – horns
  • Chris Goss- recording, assisting production
  • Alain Johannes– recording
  • Brian Gardner – mastering
  • Dan Druff– guitar technician
  • Hutch– sound technician
  • Bob Brunner “Mates” – pre-production

The album songsare interluded by staged bits of radio chatter with guest DJs. In order of appearance:

  • Blag Dahliaas DJ “Kip Kasper” of KLON – KLONE Radio of Los Angeles
  • Alain Johannesas DJ “Héctor Bonifacio Echeberria Cervantes de la Cruz Arroyo Rojas”
  • Chris Gossas DJ “Elastic Ass” of KRDL – Kurdle 109 of Chino Hills
  • C-Minus as DJ for KOOL
  • Casey Chaosas station ad promoting “All Death Metal, all the time.”
  • Jeordie Whiteas DJ Tom Sherman of Banning College Radio
  • Lux Interioras DJ for AM580
  • Jesse Hughesas Preacher
  • Natasha Shneideras DJ for WOMB – The Womb
  • Dave Catchingas DJ for WANT of Wonder Valley

Track listing:

All tracks by Joshua Homme and Nick Oliveri, except where noted.

  1. The Real Song for the Deaf
  2. You Think I Ain’t Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire – Josh Homme, Mario Lalli
  3. No One Knows – Josh Homme, Mark Lanegan
  4. First It Giveth
  5. A Song for the Dead – Josh Homme, Mark Lanegan
  6. The Sky Is Fallin’
  7. Six Shooter
  8. Hangin’ Tree – Josh Homme, Alan Johannes
  9. Go With the Flow
  10. Gonna Leave You
  11. Do It Again
  12. God is in the Radio
  13. Another Love Song
  14. A Song for the Deaf” (Contains a hidden outtake version of “Feel Good Hit of the Summer” with all lyrics replaced with manic laughter.) – Josh Homme, Nick Oliveri, Mark Lanegan
  15. Mosquito Song