On February 20, 1984.


On February 20, 1984, “Rough Trade” label released the debut, self-titled Smiths studio album. It was recorded in 1983 at “Pluto Studios” in Manchester, “Strawberry Studios” in Stockport, “Eden Studios” and “Matrix Studios” in London, and was produced by John Porter, Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Andy Rourke and  Mike Joyce. Magazine ”Slant” ranked the album at number 51 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s”; in 1989, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “The Smiths” at number 22 on its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”, and in 2012, the album was ranked at number 472 on  magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was ranked at number 51 on “Rolling Stone’s” list of the “100 Best Debut Albums of All Time”. In 1997, ”The Smiths” was ranked at number 73 in The Guardian’s list “100 Best Albums Ever”.


  • Morrissey – vocals
  • Johnny Marr– guitars, harmonica
  • Andy Rourke– bass guitar
  • Mike Joyce– drums
  • Paul Carrack– keyboards
  • Annalisa Jablonska – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Morrissey and Johnny Marr.

  1. Reel Around the Fountain
  2. You’ve Got Everything Now
  3. Miserable Lie
  4. Pretty Girls Make Graves
  5. The Hand That Rocks the Cradle
  6. This Charming Man
  7. Still Ill
  8. Hand in Glove
  9. What Difference Does It Make?
  10. I Don’t Owe You Anything
  11. Suffer Little Children

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.