On August 28, 1974.


On August 28, 1974, “Virgin ” label released “Hergest Ridge”, the second Mike Oldfield album. It was recorded in the spring 1974, at the “The Manor” and was produced by Tom Newman and Mike Oldfield. The album is follow-up of the highly successful “Tubular bells” and is named by the hill near Kington, Herefordshire on the border between England and Wales.


  • Mike Oldfield– acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric guitars; Farfisa, Gemini, Lowrey organs;  glockenspiel,  gong, mandolin, nutcracker, sleigh bells, Spanish guitar,timpani, and tubular bells
  • Chilli Charles– snare drum
  • Lindsay Cooper– oboe
  • Ted Hobart– trumpetWilliam Murray – cymbal
  • Sally Oldfield– vocals
  • Terry Oldfield– woodwinds
  • Clodagh Simonds– vocals
  • June Whiting– oboe
  • London Sinfonietta Voices – choir
  • Stringplayers, conducted by David Bedford

Track listing:

  1. Hergest Ridge (Part one)
  2. Hergest Ridge (Part two)
  3. In Dulci Jubilo (For Maureen)
  4. Spanish Tune

On August 28, 1973.


On August 28, 1973, “Tamla” label released “Let’s Get It On”, the thirteenth Marvin Gaye studio album. It was recorded  June 1970 – July 1973, at the“Golden World Studio” in Detroit and at the “Hitsville West” in Los  Angeles, and was produced by Marvin Gaye and Ed Townsend. The album received positive critics worldwide and is regarded as one of the most influential and most significant soul and funk albums of all time.


  • Marvin Gaye – vocals, background vocals
  • James Jamerson, Wilton Felder – bass
  • Bobbye Hall Porter – bongos
  • Eddie “Bongo” Brown – drums, bongos
  • Paul Humphrey, Uriel Jones – drums
  • David T. Walker, Eddie Willis, Lewis Shelton, Melvin Ragin, Robert White, Don Peake – guitar
  • Emil Richards, Bobbye Hall Porter, Ernie Watts, Plas Johnson – percussion
  • Joe Sample, Marvin Gaye, Marvin Jerkins – piano
  • The Originals – background vocals
  • Emil Richards, Victor Feldman – vibraphone
  • Arrangement, Conduction (Orchestra): David Van DePitte , Gene Page, Rene Hall

Track listing:

  1. Let’s g=Get it On – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  2. Please Stay – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  3. If I Should Die Tonight – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  4. Keep Getting’ it On – Marvin Gaye, Ed Townsend
  5. Come Get to This – Marvin Gaye
  6. Distant Lover – Marvin Gaye, Gwen Gordy, Sandra Green
  7. You Sure Love to Ball – Marvin Gaye
  8. Just to Keep You Satisfied – Marvin Gaye, Anna Gordy Gaye, Elgie Stover


On August 26, 1976.


On August 26, 1976, “Charisma” label released “Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music”, the sixth Hawkwind studio album. It was recorded February–March 1976 at the “Roundhouse Studios”, and was produced by Hawkwind. The album title makes references to SF magazine “Astounding and Amazing Stories” and the cover is a parody of the covers of  old SF magazines.


  • Robert Calvert– vocals
  • Dave Brock– electric guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Nik Turner– saxophone, flute, vocals
  • Paul Rudolph– bass guitar, electric guitar
  • Simon House– violin, keyboards, sitar
  • Simon King– drums
  • Alan Powell– drums

Track listing:

  1. Reefer Madness – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  2. Steppenwolf – Robert Calvert, Dave Brock
  3. City of Lagoons – Alan Powell
  4. The Aubergine That ate Rangoon – Paul Rudolph
  5. Kerb Crawler – Robert Calver, Dave Brock
  6. Kadu Flyer – Nik Turner, Simon House
  7. Chronoglide Skyway – Simon House


On August 27, 1976.


On August 27, 1976, “Bronze” label released “The Roaring Silence”, album by The Manfred Mann’s Earth Band. It was recorded in 1976, at “Workhouse Studios” in London, and was produced by Manfred Mann and Earth Band. The album featured material by other composers and marked the arrival of vocalist/guitarist Chris Hamlet Thompson.


  • Manfred Mann– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Colin Pattenden– bass
  • Dave Flett– lead guitar
  • Chris Hamlet Thompson– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Chris Slade– drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Doreen Chanter– backing vocals
  • Irene Chanter– backing vocals
  • Susanne Lynch – backing vocals
  • Mick Rogers– backing vocals
  • Barbara Thompson– saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Blinded by the Light – Bruce Springsteen
  2. Singing the Dolphin Through – Mike Heron
  3. Waiter, There’s a Yawn in My Ear – Manfred Mann
  4. The Road to Babylon – Manfred Mann, Thomas, Colin Pattenden
  5. This Side of Paradise – Manfred Mann, Thomas, Colin Pattenden
  6. Starbird – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade
  7. Questions – Manfred Mann, Chris Slade


On August 26, 1991.


On August 26, 1991, “Food Records” label released  “Leisure”, the debut Blur album. It was recorded May 1990 – March 1991, and was produced by Steve Lovell, Steve Power,Stephen Street, Mike Thorne and Blur. The artwork for the album originates from a 1930’s photoshoot for a swimming cap ad campaign.


  • Damon Albarn– vocals, keyboards
  • Graham Coxon– guitars, backing vocals
  • Alex James– bass guitar
  • Dave Rowntree– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. She’s So High
  2. Bang
  3. Slow Down
  4. Repetition
  5. Bad Day
  6. Sing
  7. There’s No Other Way
  8. Fool
  9. Come Together
  10. High Cool
  11. Birthday
  12. Wear Me Down



On August 26, 1985.


On August 26, 1985, “Fiction” label released “The Head on the Door”, the sixth Cure album. It was recorded in 1985, at “Angel Studios” in London, and was produced by Robert Smith and David M. Allen. The album marks the return of Simon Gallup in the band and is the first release to feature the drummer Boris Williams and Porl Thompson as official members.


  • Robert Smith- vocals, guitars, keyboards, six-string bass, production
  • Lol Tolhurst- keyboards
  • Porl Thompson- guitars, keyboards
  • Simon Gallup- bass guitar
  • Boris Williams- drums, percussion
  • Ren Party – horns
  • Ron Howe – saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Smith

  1. In Between Days
  2. Kyoto Sing
  3. The Blood
  4. Six Different Ways
  5. Push
  6. The Baby Screams
  7. Close to Me
  8. A night Like This
  9. Screw
  10. Sinking

On August 26, 1966.


On August 26, 1966, “Pye” label released “Sunshine superman”, the third Donovan’s album. It was recorded January – May 1966, at
“Columbia Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and “EMI Studios” in  London, and was produced by Mickie Most.


  • Donovan – vocals, guitar, organ
  • Bobby Ray – bass
  • “Fast” Eddy Hoh– drums
  • Shawn Phillips– sitar
  • Jimmy Pageand, Eric Ford – electric guitars
  • John Cameron– keyboards, arrangement
  • Spike Healey – bass
  • Bobby Orr – drums
  • Tony Carr– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Donovan Leitch.

  1. Sunshine Superman
  2. Legend of a Girl Child Linda
  3. Three King Fishers
  4. Ferris Wheel
  5. Bert’s Blues
  6. Season of the Witch
  7. The Trip
  8. Guinevere
  9. The Fat Angel
  10. Celeste