Tag Archives: John Henry

On September 23, 2016.

On September 23, 2016, “Cooking Viny;” label released “Shine a Light: Field Recordings from the Great American Railroad”, an album of field recordings made by Billy Bragg and Joe Henry, as they performed in waiting rooms and trackside at railway stations on a journey between Chicago and Los Angeles in March 2016. The album was produced by Billy Brag and Joe Henry.


  • Billy Bragg – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Joe Henry – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica
  • Ryan Freeland – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. Rock Island Line – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  2. The L&N Don’t Stop Here Any More – Jean Ritchie
  3. Midnight Special – Huddie Ledbetter
  4. Railroad Bill – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  5. Lonesome Whistle – Hank Williams; Jimmie Davis
  6. KC Moan – Tewee Blackman
  7. Waiting for a Train – Jimmie Rodgers
  8. In the Pines – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  9. Gentle on My Mind – John Hartford
  10. Hobo’s Lullaby – Goebel Reeves
  11. Railroading on the Great Divide – Sara Carter
  12. John Henry – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  13. Early Morning Rain – Gordon Lightfoot

On November 8, 1971.

On November 8, 1971, “A&M” label released “I Wrote a Simple Song”, the sixth Billy Preston studio album. It was recorded February, August and September 1971, at “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Billy Preston.


  • Billy Preston – vocals, piano, Hammond organ, keyboards
  • David T. Walker – electric guitar
  • George Harrison – guitar, dobro
  • Manuel Kellough – drums
  • King Errisson – congas, percussion
  • Rocky Peoples – tenor saxophone
  • Carlos Garnette – trumpet
  • Quincy Jones – string and horn arrangements
  • Clydie King, Douglas Gibbs, Duane Rogers, Eugene Bryant, Jesse Kirkland, Merry Clayton, Myrna Matthews, Patrice Holloway, Sherrell Atwood, Venetta Fields – backing vocals,
  • Roland Young – art direction
  • Jim McCrary – photography
  • Tommy Vicari – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Preston and Joe Green, except where noted.

  1. Should Have Known Better
  2. I Wrote a Simple Song
  3. John Henry – Billy Preston, Robert Sam
  4. Without a Song – William Rose, Edward Eliscu, Vincent Youmans
  5. The Bus
  6. Outa-Space
  7. The Looner Tune – Billy Preston, Joe Greene, Jesse Kirkland
  8. You Done Got Older – Billy Preston, Bruce Fisher
  9. Swing Down Chariot – traditional; arranged by Billy Preston, Joe Greene
  10. God Is Great
  11. My Country, ‘Tis of Thee – traditional