Tag Archives: The Residents

In November 1978.

In November 1978, “Ralph” label released “Duck Stab!/Buster & Glen”, the fifth  Residents album. It was recorded October 1977 – August 1978, and was produced by The Residents.


  • The Residents – arranger
  • Snakefinger – vocals, guitar
  • Ruby – vocals
  • Whifler – photography
  • Pore No Graphics – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by The Residents, except where noted.

Duck Stab side

  1. Constantinople
  2. Sinister Exaggerator – The Residents, Snakefinger
  3. The Booker Tease
  4. Blue Rosebuds
  5. Laughing Song
  6. Bach Is Dead
  7. Elvis and His Boss


Buster & Glen side


  1. Lizard Lady
  2. Semolina
  3. Birthday Boy
  4. Weight-Lifting Lulu
  5. Krafty Cheese
  6. Hello Skinny
  7. The Electrocutioner

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Ralph” label released “The Tunes of Two Cities” the second part of the “Mole Trilogy” by The Residents. It was recorded October 1980-January 1982, and was produced by The Cryptic Corporation. The album is known to be one of the first to use the E-mu Emulator, one of the earliest commercial digital samplers.

  1. Serenade for Missy
  2. A Maze of Jigsaws
  3. Mousetrap
  4. God of Darkness
  5. Smack Your Lips (Clap Your Teeth)
  6. Praise for the Curse
  7. The Secret Seed
  8. Smokebeems
  9. Mourning the Undead
  10. Song of the Wild
  11. The Evil Disposers
  12. Happy Home

In February 1977.


In February 1977, “Ralph” label released “Fingerprince”, the third Residents album. It was recorded 1974 – November 1976. Originally, “Fingerprince” was intended to be released as three-sided record named “Tourniquet of Roses”, but due to expense, the idea was abandoned and cut down to a regular two-sided album. In 1979, the third side was released separately as “Babyfingers”.
All tracks by The Residents.
1. You Yesyesyes
2. Home Age Conversation
3. Godsong
4. March de la Winni
5. Bossy
6. Boo Who?
7. Tourniquet of Roses
8. You Yesyesyes Again
9. Six Things to a Cycle

On April 5, 2005.

Residents - Animal Lover

On April 5, 2005, “Mute” label released “Animal Lover”, album, by The Residents.

Track listing:

  1. On the Way (to Oklahoma)
  2. Olive and Gray
  3. What Have My Chickens Done Now
  4. Two lips
  5. Bee’s Bumble
  6. Inner Space
  7. Dead man
  8. My Window
  9. Ingrid’s Oily Tongue
  10. Mother No More
  11. Dreaming of an Anthill (Teeming)
  12. Elmer’s Song
  13. The Monkey Man
  14. The Whispering Boys
  15. Burn My Bones

The album contains a bonus CD, generally called “…Imaginary Jack”. According to the Cryptic Corporation, it really is one long track, divided to six parts to the enjoyment of the listener. The full title is actually the entire text written on the disc:

I stood at my window staring at an arcing streetlight.
A sudden wind made me pull my shoulders to my ears.
I pissed into the dark.
It smelled like canned tuna.
My swollen lip throbbed.
I could still taste the blood.
My eyes rolled back looking for memories.
I stopped.

I was changing details in my mind, remembering only what I wanted it to be, not what it was.
I had only a short time to do what had to be done, after that it would all be forever absorbed by my imaginary Jack.

The tracks on the bonus CD combine elements from tracks from the original CD with elements from then-unreleased material.

Track listing:

  1. Part 1 – 2:55
  2. Part 2 – 6:52
  3. Part 3 – 1:38
  4. Part 4 – 1:22
  5. Part 5 – 6:28
  6. Part 6 – 10:10

On April 1, 1974.

Meet the Residents

On April 1, 1974, “Ralph Records” label released “Meet the Residents”, the debut Residents studio album. It was recorded February – October 1973, and was produced by The Residents.

Track listing:

All tracks by The Residents, except where noted.

  1. Boots – Lee Hazlewood
  2. Numb Erone
  3. Guylum Bardot
  4. Breath and Length
  5. Consuelo’s Departure
  6. Smelly Tongues
  7. Rest Aria
  8. Skratz
  9. Spotted Pinto Bean
  10. Infant Tango
  11. Seasoned Greetings
  12. N-ER-GEE (Crisis Blues)