On April 5, 2005.

Residents - Animal Lover

On April 5, 2005, “Mute” label released “Animal Lover”, album by The Residents.

Track listing:

  1. On the Way (to Oklahoma)
  2. Olive and Gray
  3. What Have My Chickens Done Now
  4. Two lips
  5. Bee’s Bumble
  6. Inner Space
  7. Dead man
  8. My Window
  9. Ingrid’s Oily Tongue
  10. Mother No More
  11. Dreaming of an Anthill (Teeming)
  12. Elmer’s Song
  13. The Monkey Man
  14. The Whispering Boys
  15. Burn My Bones

The album contains a bonus CD, generally called “…Imaginary Jack”. According to the Cryptic Corporation, it really is one long track, divided to six parts to the enjoyment of the listener. The full title is actually the entire text written on the disc:

I stood at my window staring at an arcing streetlight.
A sudden wind made me pull my shoulders to my ears.
I pissed into the dark.
It smelled like canned tuna.
My swollen lip throbbed.
I could still taste the blood.
My eyes rolled back looking for memories.
I stopped.

I was changing details in my mind, remembering only what I wanted it to be, not what it was.
I had only a short time to do what had to be done, after that it would all be forever absorbed by my imaginary Jack.

The tracks on the bonus CD combine elements from tracks from the original CD with elements from then-unreleased material.

Track listing:

  1. Part 1 – 2:55
  2. Part 2 – 6:52
  3. Part 3 – 1:38
  4. Part 4 – 1:22
  5. Part 5 – 6:28
  6. Part 6 – 10:10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.