Tag Archives: The Power and the Glory

On November 26, 2004.

On November 26, 2004, “Horslips Records” label released “Roll Back”, the tenth Horslips album. It was recorded August – September 2004, at “Grouse Lodge Studios” in Horsleap, Co. Westmeath, Ireland, and was produced by Eamon Carr, Barry Devlin, Johnny Fean, Jim Lockhart, and Charles O’Connor.


  • Johnny Fean – vocals, guitar, tenor guitar, slide guitar, tenor banjo
  • Jim Lockhart – vocals, piano, keyboards, low whistle
  • Charles O’Connor – vocals, guitar, tenor guitar, violin, mandolin, concertina
  • Barry Devlin – vocals, bass guitar
  • Eamon Carr – drums, percussion
  • Aisling Drury – cello
  • Stefano Soffia, Ivan O’Shea – engineering
  • Stefano Soffia – mixing
  • Peter Mew – mastering
  • Charles O’Connor, Chris Ellis – cover art

Track listing:

  1. Trouble (With A Capital T)
  2. The Man Who Built America
  3. Guests of the Nation
  4. Faster Than the Hound
  5. Huish the Cat
  6. Mad Pat
  7. The Wrath of the Rain
  8. Flirting in the Shadows
  9. Cuchulainn’s Lament
  10. Ace & Deuce
  11. Blindman
  12. Furniture
  13. The Power and the Glory
  14. Long Weekend
  15. My Love is in America

On September 8, 2003.

On September 8, 2003, “Dedicated Records” label released “Amazing Grace”, the fifth Spiritualized album. It was recorded in 2003 and was produced by J. Spaceman/


  • Spaceman– Epiphone Casino, Fender Jaguar, Fender Thinline, Martin 003 acoustic, Fender Telecaster, hammer dulcimer, Farfisa Compact, banjo, Fender Precision Bass, piano, bell, Radioshack
  • Tom Edwards– sleigh bells, piano, maracas, tambourine, marimba, tubular bells, timpani, Radioshack, Vox Continental, Farfisa Compact, foot stamps, vibraphone, Optigan
  • Kevin Bales– Gretsch drums
  • Doggen– Precision Bass, Fender Jaguar, Gibson Gold Top 57, Fender Jazzmaster, Rickenbacker 39 lapsteel, Fender Bass VI, harmonica, Gibson Les Paul Custom
  • Thighpaulsandra– Vox Continental, Kurtzweil, Rhodes, Hammond C3, piano
  • John Coxon– Gibson Firebird V, Fender Telecaster, Gibson Firebird III, harmonica, autoharp, Fender Bass VI, Martin D21, Hammond B3, piano, Fender Rhodes
  • Jonny Aitken: drums
  • Angie Brown: vocals
  • Lauraine McIntosh: vocals
  • Mary Pearce: vocals
  • Evan Parker: saxophone
  • Kenny Wheeler: trumpet
  • Jonathon Morcambe: French horn
  • Ray Dickaty: saxophone
  • Dave Temple: saxophone
  • Ben Edwards: trumpet
  • Nick Smart: trumpet
  • James Adams: trombone
  • Nick Sweeney: violin
  • Fay Sweet: violin
  • Tony Woollard: cello

Track listing:

All tracks by J Spaceman.

  1. This Little Life of Mine
  2. She Kissed Me (It Felt Like a Hit)
  3. Hold On
  4. Oh Baby
  5. Never Goin’ Back
  6. The Power and the Glory
  7. Lord Let It Rain On Me
  8. The Ballad of Richie Lee
  9. Cheapster
  10. Rated X
  11. Lay It Down Slow

On September 20, 1974.


On September 20, 1974, “Vertigo” label released “The Power and the Glory”, the sixth Gentle Giant album. It was recorded December 1973 – January 1974, at “Advision Studios” in London, and was produced by Gentle Giant.


  • Derek Shulman– lead vocals tenor saxophone
  • Kerry Minnear– Hammond organ, piano, Minimoog, Clavinet, electric piano, Mellotron, marimba, vibraphone, cello, lead vocas
  • Ray Shulman– bass, violin, electric violin, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Gary Green– electric guitar, electric guitars, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • John Weathers– drums, tambourine, , sleigh bells, cymbals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kerry Minnear, Derek Shulman, and Ray Shulman, except where noted.

  1. Proclamation
  2. So Sincere
  3. Aspirations – Ray Shulman, Kerry Minnear
  4. Playing the Game
  5. Cogs in Cogs
  6. No God’s Man
  7. The Face
  8. Valedictory