On May 5, 1998.

On April 5, 1998, “Arabesque” label released “Manhattan Nocturne”, the 20th  Charles McPherson album. It was recorded in April 1997, at “EastSide Sound” in New York City” and was produced by Charles McPherson and Daniel Criss.


  • Charles McPherson – alto saxophone
  • Mulgrew Miller – piano
  • Ray Drummond – double bass
  • Victor Lewis – drums
  • Bobby Sanabria – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Charles McPherson except where noted

  1. Evidence – Thelonious Monk
  2. You’re My Thrill – Jay Gorney, Sidney Clare
  3. Morning Dance
  4. Primal Urge
  5. Blue ‘n’ Boogie – Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli
  6. How Deep Is the Ocean? – Irving Berlin
  7. Manhattan Nocturne
  8. Fire Dance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.