Tag Archives: Waiting for a Train

On September 23, 2016.

On September 23, 2016, “Cooking Viny;” label released “Shine a Light: Field Recordings from the Great American Railroad”, an album of field recordings made by Billy Bragg and Joe Henry, as they performed in waiting rooms and trackside at railway stations on a journey between Chicago and Los Angeles in March 2016. The album was produced by Billy Brag and Joe Henry.


  • Billy Bragg – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Joe Henry – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica
  • Ryan Freeland – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. Rock Island Line – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  2. The L&N Don’t Stop Here Any More – Jean Ritchie
  3. Midnight Special – Huddie Ledbetter
  4. Railroad Bill – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  5. Lonesome Whistle – Hank Williams; Jimmie Davis
  6. KC Moan – Tewee Blackman
  7. Waiting for a Train – Jimmie Rodgers
  8. In the Pines – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  9. Gentle on My Mind – John Hartford
  10. Hobo’s Lullaby – Goebel Reeves
  11. Railroading on the Great Divide – Sara Carter
  12. John Henry – traditional, arranged by Billy Bragg, Joe Henry
  13. Early Morning Rain – Gordon Lightfoot

In February 1963.

In February 1963, “Columbia” label released “Blood, Sweat and Tears”, the fifteenth Johnny Cash album. It was recorded June – August 1962, and was produced by Don Law and Frank Jones.


  • Johnny Cash – guitar , vocals
  • The Carter Family- background vocals
  • Luther Perkins- guitar
  • Bob Johnson – guitar, banjo
  • Marshall Grant- bass
  • S. Holland- drums
  • Maybelle Carter- autoharp
  • Bill Pursell– piano
  • Frank Bez – photography

Track listing:

  1. The Legend of John Henry’s Hammer – Johnny Cash, June Carter
  2. Tell Him I’m Gone – Johnny Cash
  3. Another Man Done Gone – Vera Hall, Alan Lomax, John Lomax, Ruby Tartt, Johnny Cash
  4. Busted – Harlan Howard
  5. Casey Jones – traditional, arranged by Johnny Cash
  6. Nine Pound Hammer – Merle Travis
  7. Chain Gang – Harlan Howard
  8. Waiting for a Train – Jimmie Rodgers
  9. Roughneck – Sheb Wooley

In August 1969.

In August 1969, “Atlantic” label released the self-titled, second Boz Scaggs album. It was recorded in 1969, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Recorders” in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and was produced by Boz Scaggs, Marlin Greene and Jann Wenner. In 2012,  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 496 on its list of  “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Boz Scaggs – guitar, vocals
  • Duane “Skydog” Allman– guitar, dobro, slide guitar
  • Eddie Hinton– guitar
  • Jimmy Johnson– guitar
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Barry Beckett– keyboards
  • Al Lester – fiddle, violin
  • Joe Arnold, Charles Chalmers– tenor saxophone
  • James Mitchell, Floyd Newman– baritone saxophone
  • Ben Cauley– trumpet
  • Gene “Bowlegs” Miller– trombone, trumpet
  • Jeanie Greene, Mary Holliday, Donna Jean Godchauxnée, Thatcher, Joyce Dunn, Tracy Nelson, Imma Routen – background vocals
  • Engineer – Marlin Greene
  • Mastered by Rob Grenell
  • Design – Robert Kingsbury
  • Photography – Elaine Mayes
  • Inner liner photos – Stephen Paley

Track listing:

All tracks by Boz Scaggs; except where noted.

  1. I’m Easy – Boz Scaggs, Barry Beckett
  2. I’ll Be Long Gone
  3. Another Day (Another Letter)
  4. Now You’re Gone
  5. Finding Her
  6. Look What I Got – Charles Chalmers, Donna Rhodes
  7. Waiting for a Train – Jimmie Rodgers
  8. Loan Me a Dime – Fenton Robinson
  9. Sweet Release (aka Desolation Avenue) – Boz Scaggs, Barry Beckett