Tag Archives: Dinky Dawson

In March 1975.

In March 1975, “ABC Records” label released “Katy Lied” the fourth Steely Dan album. It was recorded November 1974-January 1975, at “ABS Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz.


  • Donald Fagen– vocals, piano, keyboards, saxophone
  • Walter Becker– bass, guitar
  • Michael Omartian, David Paich– pianos, keyboards
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar
  • Denny Dias– guitar
  • Rick Derringer– guitar
  • Dean Parks– guitar
  • Elliott Randall– guitar
  • Larry Carlton– guitar
  • Wilton Felder, Chuck Rainey– bass guitars
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Victor Feldman– percussion
  • Phil Woods– alto saxophone
  • Jimmie Haskell– horn & horn arrangement
  • Bill Perkins– horn
  • Michael McDonald– background vocals
  • Myrna Matthews, Sherlie Matthews, Carolyn Willis – background vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Mastering: Rick Collins
  • Sound Consultant: Dinky Dawson
  • Consultant: Daniel Levitin
  • Arranger: Jimmie Haskell

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen.

  1. Black Friday
  2. Bad Sneakers
  3. Rose Darling
  4. Daddy Don’t Live in That New York City No More
  5. Doctor Wu
  6. Everyone’s Gone to the Movies
  7. Your Gold Teeth II
  8. Chain Lightning
  9. Any World (That I’m Welcome To)
  10. Throw Back the Little Ones

On September 19, 1969.


On September 19, 1969, “Reprise” label released “Then Play On”, the third Fleetwood Mac studio album. It was recorded 1968 – 1969, at “CBS Studios”; and “De Lane Lea Studios” in London, and was produced by Fleetwood Mac.”Then Play On” was the first band’s album to feature Danny Kirwan and the last with Peter Green. The album title is from the opening line of William Shakespeare’s play “Twelfth Night” – “If Music Be the Food of Love, Play On”. The painting used for the cover of the album is “Domesticated Mural Painting”, by the English artist Maxwell Armfield.


  • Peter Green– vocals, guitar, harmonica, six string bass, percussion, violincello
  • Danny Kirwan– vocals, guitar
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion
  • Jeremy Spencer– piano
  • Christine Perfect– piano
  • Sandra Elsdon – recorders
  • Engineer: Martin Birch
  • Sound consultant: Dinky Dawson

Track listing:

  1. Coming Your Way – Danny Kirwan
  2. Closing Me Eyes – Peter Green
  3. Fighting for Madge – Mick Fleetwood
  4. When You Say – Danny Kirwan’
  5. Showbiz Blues – Peter Green
  6. Underway – Peter Green
  7. One Sunny Day – Danny Kirwan
  8. Although the Sun Is Shining – Danny Kirwan
  9. Rattlesnake Shake – Peter Green
  10. Without You – Danny Kirwan
  11. Searching for Madge – John McVie
  12. My Dream – Danny Kirwan
  13. Like Crying – Danny Kirwan
  14. Before the Beginning