Tag Archives: Golden Voice Studios

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Epic” label released the debut, self-titled Starcastle studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Golden Voice Studios” in Pekin, Illinois, and was produced by Tommy Vicari.


  • Terry Luttrell- lead vocals
  • Gary Strater – vocals, bass, taurus pedals
  • Stephen Tassler – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Herb Schildt- organ, synthesizers, piano
  • Matthew Stewart – guitars, vocals
  • Stephen Hagler – vocals, guitars
  • Engineeredby Norm Kinney, Tommy Vicari
  • Paul Tassler, Irv Zuckerman, Steve Schankman Artistic Vision, Ltd. – personal direction
  • Ed Lee – art direction
  • Alex Ebel – illustration
  • David Gulick – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Terry Luttrell, Gary Strater, Stephen Tassler, Herb Schildt, Matthew Stewart and Stephen Hagler.

  1. Lady of the Lake
  2. Elliptical Seasons
  3. Forces
  4. Stargate
  5. Sunfield
  6. To the Fire Wind
  7. Nova

In September 1975.

In September 1975, “Full Moon” label released “Captured Angel”, the third Dan Fogelberg album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Golden Voice Studios” in South Pekin, “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, “Record Plant” in Los Angeles, “Record Plant” in Sausalito, .and was produced by Dan Fogelberg.


  • Dan Fogelberg – banjo, bass guitar,  guitar,  harmonica,  percussion, keyboards, lead and backing vocals, ARP synthesizer, cover artwork
  • Hot Damn Brothers – backing vocals
  • Russ Kunkel– drums, percussion
  • David Lindley– fiddle
  • Al Perkins– pedal steel guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • D. Souther– backing vocals
  • Glen Spreen – string arrangements
  • Engineers: Tom Byler, Jeff Guercio, Terry Jamison, Gary Ladinsky and John Stronach
  • Mixing: John Stronach
  • Mastering: Rick Collins
  • Design: Ron Coro
  • Photography: Henry Diltz

Track listing:

All tracks by Dan Fogelberg.

  1. Aspen/These Days
  2. Comes and Goes
  3. Captured Angel
  4. Old Tennessee
  5. Next Time
  6. Man in the Mirror/ Below the Surface
  7. Crow
  8. The Last Nail

On November 8, 1974.


On November 8, 1974,”Wooden Nickel” label released “Man of Miracles”, the fourth Styx album. It was recorded in 1974 at “Golden Voice Studios” in South Pekin, and was produced by John Ryan and Bill Traut.


  • Dennis DeYoung– keyboards, vocals
  • James Young– guitar, vocals
  • John Curulewski– guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Chuck Panozzo– bass
  • John Panozzo– drums
  • Engineer: Gary Loizzo.

Track listing:

  1. Rock & Roll Feeling – James Young, John Curulewski
  2. Havin’ a Ball – John. Curulewski, James. Young
  3. Golden Lark – Dennis DeYoung
  4. A Song for Suzanne – Dennis DeYoung
  5. A Man Like Me – James Young
  6. Best Thing – James Young, Dennis DeYoung
  7. Evil Eyes – Dennis DeYoung
  8. Southern Woman – James Young, Ray Brandle
  9. Christopher, Mr. Christopher – Dennis DeYoung
  10. Man of Miracles – James Young, Denis DeYoung, Ray Brandle