On August 12, 1968.


On August 12, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Cheap Thrills”, the second Big Brother and the Holding Company studio album (first one with Janis Joplin as lead singer). It was recorded March-May 1968 and was produced by John Simon, who incorporated recordings of crowd noise to give the impression of a live album, but only the last song, band’s cover of “Ball and Chain”, had been recorded live at “The Fillmore” in San Francisco.  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Cheap Thrills” at number 338 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Janis Joplin– vocals
  • Sam Andrew– vocals, lead guitar, bass
  • James Gurley– guitar
  • Peter Albin – bass, guitar
  • Dave Getz – drums

Track listing:

  1. Combination of the Two – Sam Andrew
  2. I need a Man to Love – Sam Andrew, Janis Joplin
  3. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward
  4. Piece of My Heart – Bert Berns, Jerry Ragovy
  5. Turtle Blues – Janis Joplin
  6. Oh, Sweet Mary – Peter Albin, Sam Andrew, David Getz, James Gurley, Janis Joplin
  7. Ball and Chain – Big Mama Thorton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.