In December 1972.

In December 1972, “Columbia” label released “Gypsy Cowboy”, the third New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Stephen Barncard.


  • John Dawson- rhythm guitar, lead vocals, 1st joint lead vocal
  • David Nelson- lead guitar, dobro, mandolin, bagpipes, lead vocals, 2nd joint lead vocal
  • Dave Torbert- bass, acoustic guitar, lead vocals, 3rd joint lead vocal
  • Buddy Cage- pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden- drums
  • Darlene DiDomenico – backing vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux- backing vocals
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Mark Naftalin- piano
  • Jack Schroer- saxophone
  • Recording engineers: Stephen Barncard, Dave Brown, Ellen Burke
  • Cover art: Lore Orion
  • Liner notes: John Tobler

Track listing:

  1. Gypsy Cowboy – Dave Torbert
  2. Whiskey – John Dawson
  3. Groupie – Dave Torbert
  4. Sutter’s Mill – John Dawson
  5. Death and Destruction – John Dawson
  6. Linda – John Dawson
  7. On My Way Back Home – Dave Torbert
  8. Superman – John Dawson
  9. She’s No Angel – Wanda Ballman
  10. Long Black Veil – Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin
  11. Sailin’ – John Dawson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.