In November 1974.

In November 1974, “Columbia” label released “Brujo”, the fifth New Riders of the Purple Sage studio album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Ed Freeman.


  • John Dawson- guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson- guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Spencer Dryden- drums, vocals
  • Skip Battin- bass, vocals
  • Buddy Cage- steel guitar
  • Neil Larson, Mark Naftalin– keyboards
  • Ed Freeman – mellotron
  • Dan Patiris – English horn
  • Armando Peraza– bongos
  • Bob Edwards, Kurt Kinzel – recording engineer
  • Urve Kuusikn – photography
  • Gage Taylor – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Old Man Noll – John Dawson
  2. Ashes of Love – Jack Anglin, Johnnie Wright
  3. You Angel You – Bob Dylan
  4. Instant Armadillo Blues – John Dawson
  5. Workingman’s Woman – Troy Seals, Will Jennings, Don Goodman
  6. On the Amazon – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  7. Big Wheels – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  8. Singing Cowboy – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley
  9. Crooked Judge – Robert Hunter, David Nelson
  10. Parson Brown – John Dawson
  11. Neon Rose – Skip Battin, Kim Fowley



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.