In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Vanguard” label released “Baptism: A Journey Through Our Time”, the ninth Joan Baez album. It was recorded in 1968, at “Vanguard Studios” in New York, and was produced by Maynard Solomon. The album featured poetry spoken and sung by Joan Baez.


  • Joan Baez – vocals, guitar

Track listing:

  1. Old Welsh Song – Henry Treece
  2. I Saw the Vision of Armies – Walt Whitman
  3. Minister of War – Arthur Waley
  4. Song In the Blood – Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Jacques Prévert
  5. Casida of the Lament – L. Gili, Federico García Lorca
  6. Of the Dark Past – James Joyce
  7. London – William Blake
  8. In Guernica – Norman Rosten
  9. Who Murdered the Minutes – Henry Treece
  10. Oh, Little Child – Henry Treece
  11. No Man Is an Island – John Donne
  12. Portrait of the Artist As a Young Man – James Joyce
  13. All the Pretty Little Horses – traditional
  14. Childhood III – Arthur Rimbaud, Louis Varese
  15. The Magic Wood – Henry Treece
  16. Poems from the Japanese – Kenneth Rexroth
  17. Colours – Peter Levi, Robin Milner-Gulland, Yevgeny Yevtushenko
  18. All in Green Went My Love Riding – E. Cummings
  19. Gacela of the Dark Deat – Federico García Lorca, Stephen Spender
  20. The Parable of the Old Man and the Young – Wilfred Owen
  21. Evil – Cameron, Arthur Rimbaud
  22. Epitaph for a Poet – Countee Cullen
  23. Mystic Numbers- 36
  24. When The Shy Star Goes Forth In Heaven – James Joyce
  25. The Angel – William Blake
  26. Old Welsh Song – Henry Treece



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.