Tag Archives: Quadraphonic Sound Studios

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Monument Records” label released “Jesus Was a Capricorn”, the fourth Kris Kristofferson album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” and “Monument Recording Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Fred Foster.


  • Kris Kristofferson – vocals, guitar
  • Rita Coolidge – backing vocals
  • Chip Young, Dennis Linde, Fred Carter Jr., Grady Martin, Jerry Shook, Jimmy Colvard, John Buck Wilkin, Johnny Christopher, Mac Gayden, Stephen Bruton – guitar
  • “Uncle Josh” Graves – slide dobro
  • Weldon Myrick – steel guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood, David Briggs, John Harris, Mike Utley – piano, electric piano, organ
  • Brenton Banks, Byron Bach, Carl Gorodetzky, David Darling, George Binkley, Lillian Hunt, Sheldon Kurland, Steven Smith – strings
  • Bill Justis – string arrangements
  • Norbert Putnam, Tommy Cogbill – bass guitar
  • Andrew Newmark, Kenny Buttrey – drums
  • Alan Rush, Benny Whitehead, Billy Swan, Larry Gatlin, Randy Cullers, The Bergenaires, The Joint Venture, The Jordanaires – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kris Kristofferson except where noted.

  1. Jesus Was a Capricorn (Owed to John Prine)
  2. Nobody Wins
  3. It Sure Was (Love)
  4. Enough for You
  5. Help Me – Larry Gatlin
  6. Jesse Younger
  7. Give It Time to Be Tender – Kris Kristofferson, Donnie Fritts
  8. Out of Mind, Out of Sight – Kris Kristofferson, Stephen Bruton
  9. Sugar Man
  10. Why Me

In October 1972.

In October 1972, “ABC” label released “Passin’ Thru”, the fifth James Gang studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” in Nashville TN, “Sound City Studios” in Van Nuys, CA, and was produced by Roy Kenner, Domenic Troiano, Dale Peters and Jim Fox.


  • Roy Kenner – lead vocals, harmonica, percussion
  • Domenic Troiano – guitars, backing vocals
  • Dale Peters – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Jim Fox – drums, backing vocals, organ
  • David Briggs – piano
  • Charlie McCoy – harmonica
  • Weldon Myrick – pedal steel guitar
  • Craig Sapphin – all strings, arrangements
  • William D. “Smitty” Smith – piano, organ, harpsichord

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Kenner and Domenic Troiano, except where noted.

  1. Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet
  2. One Way Street – Domenic Troiano
  3. Had Enough – Roy Kenner
  4. Up to Yourself – Domenic Troiano
  5. Everybody Needs a Hero
  6. Run Run Run
  7. Things I Want to Say to You
  8. Out of Control
  9. Drifting Girl

On November 18, 1976.

On November 18, 1976, “United Artists” label released “Act Like Nothing’s Wrong”, the seventh Al Kooper studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Record Plant” in Los Angeles, “Record Plant” in Sausalito, CA, “TK Studios” in Hialeah, FL, “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” in Nashville, TN, “Sound Ideas Studios” in New York City, “Studio One” in Doraville, GA, and was produced by Al Kooper, and John Simon.


  • Al Kooper – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, keyboards, clavinet, arranger, horn arrangements, engineer
  • Bobby Wood – organ, piano, electric piano
  • Joe Walsh – slide guitar
  • Reggie Young – vocals, guitar
  • Robert Ferguson – drums, vocals
  • Dominic Frontiere – horn arrangements
  • Steve Gibson – guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Willie “Little Beaver” Hale – guitar
  • Hilda Harris – backing vocals
  • Marvin Stamm – trumpet
  • Tower of Power – horns
  • Ron Bogdon – bass
  • J. R. Cobb – bass
  • George “Chocolate” Perry – bass
  • Mike Leech – bass
  • Harry Lookofsky – violin
  • Wendy Waldman – backing vocals
  • Ron Hicklin Singers – backing vocals
  • Tubby Zeigler – drums
  • Larrie Londin – drums
  • Gary Coleman – percussion, bongos, conga
  • John Simon – arranger
  • Steve Alaimo – engineer
  • Bob Edwards – engineer
  • Gene Eichelberger – engineer
  • John Henning – engineer
  • Bruce Hensal – engineer
  • Linda Hoxit – engineer
  • Denis King – engineer
  • Kelly Kotera – engineer
  • Bobby Langford – engineer
  • Tim Sadler – engineer
  • Rick Sanchez – engineer
  • Rick Smith – engineer
  • Steve Smith – engineer
  • Alan Robinson – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Kooper; except where noted.

  1. Is We on the Downbeat
  2. This Diamond Ring – Al Kooper, Bob Brass, Irwin Levine
  3. She Don’t Ever Lose Her Groove – Willie Hale
  4. I Forgot to Be Your Lover – Booker T. Jones, William Bell
  5. Missing You
  6. Out of Left Field – Dan Penn, Spooner Oldham
  7. (Please Not) One More Time
  8. In My Own Sweet Way
  9. Turn My Head Towards Home – Al Kooper, John Simon
  10. A Visit to the Rainbow Bar and Grill
  11. Hollywood Vampire

In May 1977.

In May 1977, “Full Moon” label released “Nether Lands”, the fourth Dan Fogelberg album. It was recorded in 1977, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, Colorado, “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles and Sausalito, “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” in  Nashville and “North Star Studio” in Boulder, Colorado, and was produced by Dan Fogelberg and Norbert Putnam.


  • Dan Fogelberg – acoustic & electric guitars, piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards, vocals, 12 string guitar, slide guitar, painting
  • Kenneth A. Buttrey- drums
  • Dominic Frontiere, Dan Fogelberg, Norbert Putnam – orchestral arrangements
  • Don Henley- backing vocals, harmony vocals
  • Russ Kunkel- conga, drums
  • Joe Lala- percussion, conga
  • Frank Marocco – accordion
  • Norbert Putnam- bass
  • D. Souther- backing vocals, harmony vocals
  • John Stronach – percussion, maracas, tambourine
  • Al Perkins- pedal steel, dobro
  • Joe Walsh- guitar, electric guitar
  • Tim Weisberg- flute
  • Mix down Engineer: Marty Lewis
  • Assistant Engineers: Jeff Guercio, Mark Guercio, John Henning, Marty Lewis, Bruce Hensal, Gary Landinsky.
  • Mastered by: Glenn Meadows
  • Photography by: Andy Katz
  • Design by: Kosh

Track listing:

All songs written by Dan Fogelberg.

  1. Nether Lands
  2. Once upon a Time
  3. Dancing Shoes
  4. Lessons Learned
  5. Loose Ends
  6. Love Gone By
  7. Promises Made
  8. Give Me Some Time
  9. Scarecrow’s Dream
  10. Sketches
  11. False Faces