Tag Archives: I Told You So

In December 1963.

In December 1963, “Roost” label released “Stitt Goes Latin”, the 48th Sonny Stitt album.It was recorded in November 1963, at “A&R Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Teddy Reig.


  • Sonny Stitt – alto and tenor saxophone
  • Thad Jones – trumpet
  • Chick Corea – piano
  • Larry Gales – bass
  • Willie Bobo – drums
  • Carlos “Patato” Valdes – congas, bongos
  • Osvaldo “Chihuahua” Martinez – cowbell, maracas, jawbone

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Stitt except where noted.

  1. Are You Listening
  2. Amigos
  3. My Little Suede Shoes – Charlie Parker
  4. Ritmo Bobo
  5. I Told You So
  6. Chic
  7. Senor Jones
  8. Autumn Leaves – Joseph Kosma, Jacques Prévert, Johnny Mercer

In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Pablo” label released “I Told You So”, album by Count Basie and his Orchestra (his sixth album for “Pablo). It was recorded in January 1976, at “RCA Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Count Basie- piano
  • Sonny Cohn- trumpet
  • Pete Minger- trumpet
  • Bobby Mitchell – trumpet
  • John Thomas – trumpet
  • Jack Feierman – trumpet
  • Al Grey- trombone
  • Curtis Fuller- trombone
  • Bill Hughes- trombone
  • Mel Wanzo- trombone
  • Bobby Plater- alto saxophone
  • Danny Turner – alto saxophone
  • Jimmy Forrest- tenor saxophone
  • Eric Dixon- tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Fowlkes- baritone saxophone
  • John Duke – double bass
  • Freddie Green- guitar
  • Butch Miles- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Holman, except where noted.

  1. Tree Frog
  2. Flirt
  3. Blues for Alfy
  4. Something to Live For – Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn
  5. Plain Brown Wrapper
  6. Swee’Pea
  7. Ticker
  8. Too Close for Comfort – Jerry Bock, George David Weiss, Larry Holofcener
  9. Told You So
  10. The Git


On March 19, 1962.

On March 19, 1962, “Columbia” label released “The Electrifying Aretha Franklin”, the second Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded July – December 1961, January 1962, at “Columbia Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John H. Hammond.


  • Aretha Franklin– vocals, piano
  • John H. Hammond– personal supervisor
  • Richard Wess – arrangements

Track listing:

  1. You Made Me Love You – Joe McCarthy, James Vincent Monaco
  2. I Told You So – John Leslie McFarland
  3. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody – Sam M. Lewis, Jean Schwartz, Joe Young
  4. Nobody Like You – James Cleveland
  5. Exactly Like You – Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields
  6. It’s So Heartbreakin’ – John Leslie McFarland
  7. Rough Lover – John Leslie McFarland
  8. Blue Holiday – Willie Denson, Luther Dixon
  9. Just for You – Bailey, John Leslie McFarland
  10. That Lucky Old Sun(Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) – Haven Gillespie, Harry Beasley Smith
  11. I Surrender, Dear – Harry Barris, Gordon Clifford
  12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer