Tag Archives: John Leslie McFarland

On November 16, 1964.

On November 16, 1964, “Columbia” label released “Runnin’ Out of Fools”, the sixth Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Clyde Otis.


  1. Mockingbird – Charlie Foxx, Inez Foxx
  2. How Glad I Am – Jimmy Williams, Larry Harrison
  3. Walk On By – Hal David, Burt Bacharach
  4. Every Little Bit Hurts – Ed Cobb
  5. The Shoop Shoop Song (It’s in His Kiss) – Rudy Clark
  6. You’ll Lose a Good Thing – Barbara Lynn Ozen
  7. I Can’t Wait Until I See My Baby’s Face – Chip Taylor, Norman Meade
  8. It’s Just a Matter of Time – Belford Hendricks, Clyde Otis, Brook Benton
  9. Runnin’ Out of Fools – Kay Rogers, Richard Ahlert
  10. My Guy – Smokey Robinson
  11. Two Sides of Love – Roy Alfred
  12. One Room Paradise – John Leslie McFarland

On March 19, 1962.

On March 19, 1962, “Columbia” label released “The Electrifying Aretha Franklin”, the second Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded July – December 1961, January 1962, at “Columbia Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John H. Hammond.


  • Aretha Franklin– vocals, piano
  • John H. Hammond– personal supervisor
  • Richard Wess – arrangements

Track listing:

  1. You Made Me Love You – Joe McCarthy, James Vincent Monaco
  2. I Told You So – John Leslie McFarland
  3. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody – Sam M. Lewis, Jean Schwartz, Joe Young
  4. Nobody Like You – James Cleveland
  5. Exactly Like You – Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields
  6. It’s So Heartbreakin’ – John Leslie McFarland
  7. Rough Lover – John Leslie McFarland
  8. Blue Holiday – Willie Denson, Luther Dixon
  9. Just for You – Bailey, John Leslie McFarland
  10. That Lucky Old Sun(Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) – Haven Gillespie, Harry Beasley Smith
  11. I Surrender, Dear – Harry Barris, Gordon Clifford
  12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer