In June 1976.

In June 1976, “Pablo” label released “I Told You So”, album by Count Basie and his Orchestra (his sixth album for “Pablo). It was recorded in January 1976, at “RCA Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Count Basie- piano
  • Sonny Cohn- trumpet
  • Pete Minger- trumpet
  • Bobby Mitchell – trumpet
  • John Thomas – trumpet
  • Jack Feierman – trumpet
  • Al Grey- trombone
  • Curtis Fuller- trombone
  • Bill Hughes- trombone
  • Mel Wanzo- trombone
  • Bobby Plater- alto saxophone
  • Danny Turner – alto saxophone
  • Jimmy Forrest- tenor saxophone
  • Eric Dixon- tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Fowlkes- baritone saxophone
  • John Duke – double bass
  • Freddie Green- guitar
  • Butch Miles- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Holman, except where noted.

  1. Tree Frog
  2. Flirt
  3. Blues for Alfy
  4. Something to Live For – Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn
  5. Plain Brown Wrapper
  6. Swee’Pea
  7. Ticker
  8. Too Close for Comfort – Jerry Bock, George David Weiss, Larry Holofcener
  9. Told You So
  10. The Git


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.