Tag Archives: D.J. Bonebrake

In June 1982.

In July 1982, “Elektra” label released “Under the Big Black Sun”, the third X studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ray Manzarek.


  • John Doe – vocals, bass
  • Exene Cervenka – vocals
  • Billy Zoom – guitar, saxophone, clarinet
  • D.J. Bonebrake – drums, marimba vibes, percussion
  • Ray Manzarek – keyboards
  • Alfred Harris – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks written by John Doe and Exene Cervenka except where noted.

  1. The Hungry Wolf
  2. Motel Room in My Bed
  3. Riding with Mary
  4. Come Back to Me
  5. Under the Big Black Sun
  6. Because I Do
  7. Blue Spark
  8. Dancing with Tears in My Eyes – Al Dubin, Joe Burke
  9. Real Child of Hell
  10. How I (Learned My Lesson)
  11. The Have Nots

On June 8, 1993.

On June 8, 1993, “Big Life” label released “Hey Zeus!”, the seventh X studio album. It was recorded September – December 1992, at “Zeitgeist Studios” in Los Angeles, “Groove masters” in Hollywood, and was produced by Tony Berg.


  • Exene Cervenka – vocals
  • John Doe – vocals, bass
  • Tony Gilkyson – vocals, guitar
  • D.J. Bonebrake – percussion, drums, marimba
  • Patrick Warren, Tony Berg – keyboards
  • Tchad Blake – engineer, mixing
  • Casey McMackin – engineer
  • Brian Schuebie – engineer
  • Dale Lavi – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Exene Cervenka and John Doe; except where noted.

  1. Someone’s Watching – John Doe, Tony Gilkyson
  2. Big Blue House
  3. Clean Like Tomorrow
  4. New Life
  5. Country at War
  6. Arms for Hostages
  7. Into the Light – John Doe, Tony Gilkyson
  8. Lettuce and Vodka – Duke McVinnie
  9. Everybody
  10. Baby You Lied
  11. Drawn in the Dark

On August 15, 2008.

On August 15, 2008, “TDRS” label released “Running After Deer”, the first album by filmmaker Alix Lambert and producer Travis Dickerson. It was recorded in 2008, and was produced by Travis Dickerson.


  • Alix Lambert – samples
  • Travis Dickerson- keyboards, theremin
  • Buckethead- guitars
  • J Bonebrake – drums
  • Paul Eckman – bass
  • Samuel Stuart

Track listing:

  1. Becoming a Race Horse
  2. The Liberian Boxing Team
  3. What in the Fuck?
  4. Pregnant Men in America
  5. Jockey
  6. The African Toy
  7. It Make No Goddamn Sense
  8. Maybe It’s Because You’re an Asshole
  9. Below the Belt
  10. I’m Tired


In May 1981.

In May 1981, “Slash” label released “Wild Gift”, the second X album. It was recorded in March 1981, at “Clover Recorders” in Los Angeles, “Golden Sound Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ray Manzarek. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Wild Gift” at number 333 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Exene– vocals
  • Billy Zoom– guitar
  • John Doe– vocals, bass
  • J. Bonebrake– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Doe and Exene Cervenka.

  1. The Once Over Twice
  2. We’re Desperate
  3. Adult Books
  4. Universal Corner
  5. I’m Coming Over
  6. It’s Who You Know
  7. In This House That I Call Home
  8. Some Other Time
  9. White Girl
  10. Beyond and Back
  11. Back 2 the Base
  12. When Our Love Passed Out on the Couch
  13. Year 1