In June 1982.

In July 1982, “Elektra” label released “Under the Big Black Sun”, the third X studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ray Manzarek.


  • John Doe – vocals, bass
  • Exene Cervenka – vocals
  • Billy Zoom – guitar, saxophone, clarinet
  • D.J. Bonebrake – drums, marimba vibes, percussion
  • Ray Manzarek – keyboards
  • Alfred Harris – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks written by John Doe and Exene Cervenka except where noted.

  1. The Hungry Wolf
  2. Motel Room in My Bed
  3. Riding with Mary
  4. Come Back to Me
  5. Under the Big Black Sun
  6. Because I Do
  7. Blue Spark
  8. Dancing with Tears in My Eyes – Al Dubin, Joe Burke
  9. Real Child of Hell
  10. How I (Learned My Lesson)
  11. The Have Nots

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.