Tag Archives: Beverly Weinstein

In January 1971.

In January 1971, “Windfall” label released “Nantucket Sleighride”, the second Mountain studio album. It was recorded in 1970, at “The Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi.  


  • Leslie West – vocals, guitar
  • Steve Knight – keyboards
  • Felix Pappalardi – vocals, bass
  • Corky Laing – drums, percussion
  • Bob d’Orleans – engineer
  • Tom Cachetta – assistant engineer
  • Dave Ragno – assistant engineer
  • Beverly Weinstein – art direction
  • Gail Collins – visual director, design, painting, photography, calligraphy
  • Mick Brigden – calligraphy
  • Bud Prager – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Look Around – Leslie West, Sue Palmer,, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  2. Taunta (Sammy’s Tune) – Felix Pappalardi
  3. Nantucket Sleighride (to Owen Coffin) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  4. You Can’t Get Away – Leslie West, Gail Collins, Corky Laing
  5. Tired Angels (to J.M.H.) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Colliins
  6. The Animal Trainer and the Toad – Leslie West, Sue Palmer
  7. My Lady – Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  8. Travellin’ in the Dark (to E.M.P.) – Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins
  9. The Great Train Robbery – Leslie West, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Gail Collins

In April 1970.

In April 1970, “Bell Records” label released “Portrait”, the fifth 5th Dimension album.  It was recorded August 1969-March 1970, at Wally Heider Studios in Hollywood, and was produced by Bones Howe. The album  cover features an impressionistic portrait by the artist LeRoy Neiman.


  • Billy Davis, Jr.- lead vocals, background vocals
  • Florence LaRue- lead vocals, background vocals
  • Marilyn McCoo- lead vocals, background vocals
  • Lamonte McLemore- background vocals
  • Ron Townson- lead vocals, background vocals
  • Michael Anthony- electric guitar
  • Mike Deasy- electric guitar
  • Dennis Budimir – rhythm guitar
  • Tommy Tedesco- rhythm guitar
  • Fred Tackett- finger pickin’ guitar
  • Joe Osborn- bass
  • Hal Blaine- drums, percussion
  • Larry Bunker- congas, mallets, percussion, drums
  • Gary Coleman – mallets, percussion
  • Larry Knechtel- piano, organ, tack piano
  • Jimmy Rowles– piano
  • Gary Illingworth – electric piano
  • Bob Alcivar– arranger
  • Engineer: Bones Howe
  • Mastering: Elliot Federman
  • Digital transfers: Mike Hartry
  • Production coordination: Jeremy Holiday
  • Production assistant: Bones Howe, Ann McClelland, Tom Tierney, Russ Wapensky
  • Product manager: Mandana Eidgah
  • Project coordinator: Arlessa Barnes, Glenn Delgado, Christina DeSimone, Karyn Friedland, Felicia Gearhart, Laura Gregory, Robin Manning, Brooke Nochomson, Ed Osborne, Larry Parra, Dana Renert, Bill Stafford, Steve Strauss
  • Archivist: Joanne Feltman, Glenn Korman
  • Research: Joel Whitburn
  • Assistants: Larry Cox, Johnny Golden, Rik Pekkonen
  • Arranger: Bob Alcivar, Bill Hollman, Bones Howe
  • Art direction: Beverly Weinstein
  • Design: Mathieu Bitton
  • Liner notes: Mike Ragogna

Track listing:

  1. Puppet Man – Howard Greenfield, Neil Sedaka
  2. One Less Bell to Answer – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  3. Feelin’ Alright – Dave Mason
  4. This Is Your Life – Jimmy Webb
  5. A Love Like Ours – Bob Alcivar, Lamonte McLemore
  6. Save the Country – Laura Nyro
  7. Medley
  • The Declaration – Julianne Johnson, René DeKnight
  • A Change Is Gonna Come – Sam Cooke
  • People Gotta Be Free – Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere
  1. Dimension 5ive – Bob Alcivar

On the Beach (In the Summertime) – McNeil

On March 7, 1970.

Mountain - Climbing

On March 7, 1970, “Windfall” label released “Climbing!”, the first Mountain studio album. It was recorded 1969 -1970, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York, and was produced by Felix Pappalardi.


  • Leslie West– guitars, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi– bass, piano, rhythm guitar, lead and co-lead vocals
  • Corky Laing– drums, percussion
  • Steve Knight– organ, mellotron, handbells
  • Beverly Weinstein – art direction
  • Gail Collins– cover artwork, photography

Track listing:

  1. Mississippi Queen – Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea, Leslie West
  2. Theme for an Imaginary Western- Pete Brown, Jack Bruce
  3. Never in My Life – Gail Collins, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Leslie West
  4. Silver Paper – Gail Collins, George Gardos, Steve Knight, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, Leslie West
  5. For Yasgur’s Farm – Gail Collins, George Gardos, Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea, Gary Ship
  6. To My Friend – Leslie West
  7. The Laird – Gail Collins, Felix Pappalardi
  8. Sittin’ on a Rainbow – Gail Collins, Corky Laing, Leslie West
  9. Boys in the Band – Gail Collins, Felix Pappalardi