Tag Archives: Lee Crystal

In July 1983.

In July 1983, “Blackheart” and “MCA” labels released “Album”, the third Joan Jett album, and the second to feature her backing band The Blackhearts. It was recorded in 1983, at “Kingdom Sound Studios” in Syosset” New York, and was produced by Joan Jett, Ritchie Cordell, Kenny Laguna, and Greg Kolotkin.


  • Joan Jett– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, art direction
  • Ricky Byrd – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Gary Ryan – bass, backing vocals
  • Lee Crystal – drums, backing vocals
  • The Uptown Horns:
    • Crispin Choe – baritone sax
    • Robert Funk – trombone
    • Arno Hecht – tenor sax
    • Paul Litteral – trumpet
  • The Ross Levinson Strings directed by Ross Levinson
  • Kenny Laguna- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Ron Cote – engineer
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Spencer Drate, Judith Salavetz – design
  • Meryl Laguna – art direction
  • Dieter Zill – photography

Track listing:

  1. Fake Friends – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  2. Handyman – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  3. Everyday People – Sylvester Stewart
  4. A Hundred Feet Away – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna, Peter Anders
  5. Secret Love – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  6. The French Song – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna, Ricky Byrd, Mike Winter Jr.
  7. Tossin’ and Turnin’ – Ritchie Adams. Malou Rene
  8. Why Can’t We Be Happy – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  9. I Love Playing with Fire – Joan Jett
  10. Coney Island Whitefish – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  11. Had Enough – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna, Ricky Byrd

On December 9, 1986.

On December 9, 1986, “Blackheart” label released “Good Music”, the fifth Joan Jett and the Blackhearts studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Record Plant” in New York City, “Nino Studios” in Baldwin, New York, “Broccoli Rabe” in Fairfield, New Jersey, “Kingdom Sound Studios” in Syosset, New York, and was produced by Kenny Laguna, Thom Panunzio, John Aiosa, Mark S. Berry, Larry Smith and Reggie Griffin.


  • Joan Jett- guitars, lead vocals
  • Ricky Byrd – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Kasim Sulton- bass
  • Gary Ryan – bass, backing vocals
  • Thommy Price, Lee Crystal – drums
  • Bob Halligan, Jr.- guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • Reggie Griffin – guitar, bass, drums
  • Rick Knowles – guitar
  • Michael Rudetsky, Ronnie Lawson – keyboards
  • Dennis Feldman – bass
  • Jimmy Bralower – drums
  • Ross Levinson – violin
  • Bashiri Johnson, Nelson Williams, Thom Panunzio, Larry Smith- percussion
  • Darlene Love- backing vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, Mike Love, Billy Hinsche, Bobby Figueroa – background vocals
  • Kenny Laguna- various instruments, backing vocals
  • The Uptown Horns:
    • Crispin Choe – baritone saxophone
    • Robert Funk – trombone
    • Arno Hecht – tenor saxophone
    • Paul Litteral – trumpet
  • Thom Panunzio- engineer, mixing
  • John Aiosa, Tom Swift, Gray Russell, Jim Ball – additional engineering
  • Bob Ludwig- mastering

Track listing:

  1. Good Music – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  2. This Means War – Joan Jett, Bob Halligan Jr., Kenny Laguna
  3. Roadrunner – Jonathan Richman
  4. If Ya Want My Luv – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  5. Fun, Fun, Fun – Brian Wilson, Mike Love
  6. Black Leather – Joan Jett, Reggie Griffin, Eddie Morris, William Adler
  7. Outlaw – Joan Jett, Bob Halligan Jr., Kenny Laguna, Ricky Bird
  8. Just Lust – Terry Abrahamson, Rick Nowels
  9. You Got Me Floatin’ – Jimi Hendrix
  10. Contact – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna

On November 18, 1981.


On November 18, “Boardwalk” label released “I Love Rock ‘n Roll”, the second  Joan Jett studio album. It was recorded June – September 1981, at “Kingdom Sound Studios” and “Soundworks Studios” in New York, and was produced by Kenny Laguna and Ritchie Cordell. It was the first album to feature her backing band The Blackhearts. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Joan Jett– vocals; guitar
  • Ricky Byrd – guitar
  • Gary Ryan – bass guitar; backing vocals
  • Lee Crystal – drums
  • Eric Ambel– guitar
  • Will “Dub” Jones– vocals
  • The Coasters– backing vocals
  • Glen Kolotkin – associate producer, engineer
  • Gerry Gabinelli – engineer
  • Stew Romain – mastering

Track listing:

  1. I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll – Alan Merrill, Jake Hooker
  2. (I’m Gonna) Run Away – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  3. Love is Pain – Joan Jett
  4. Nag – Arthur Cher
  5. Crimson and Clover – Tommy James, Peter Lucia jr.
  6. Victim of Circumstance – Joan Jett, Kenny Laguna
  7. Bits and Pieces – Dave Clark, Mike Smith
  8. Be Straight – Joan Jett, Greg Kihn, Kenny laguna
  9. You’re Too Possessive – Joan Jett
  10. Little Drummer Boy – Katherine K. Davis, Henry Onorati, Harry Simeone