Tag Archives: Lanny Kaye

On May 17, 1979.


On May 17, 1979, “Arista” label released “Wave”, the fourth Patti Smith Group studio album. It was recorded in 1979 at “Bearsville Studios” in New York, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Patti Smith– vocals
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums, consultant
  • Ivan Kral– bass guitar, guitar, cello, keyboards
  • Richard Sohl– piano
  • Lenny Kaye– vocals, guitar, bass guitar
  • Andi Ostrowe – percussion, timpani
  • Todd Rundgren– bass guitar,  engineering
  • Vic Anesini – mastering
  • George Carnell – assistant engineer
  • Tom Edmonds – assistant engineer

Track listing:

  1. Frederick – Patti Smith
  2. Dancing Barefoot – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  3. So you want to Be (a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star) – Jim McGuinn, Chris Hillman
  4. Hymn – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  5. Revenge – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  6. Citizen Ship – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  7. Seven Ways of Going – Patti Smith
  8. Broken Flag – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  9. Wave – Patti Smith

On April 1, 1987.

Solitude Standing

On April 1, 1987, “A&M” label released “Solitude Standing”, the second Suzanne Vega album. It was recorded 1986 – 1987, at “Bearsville Studios” in Woodstock, NY, and “RPM Sound Studios” in NYC, and was produced by Steve Addabbo and Lenny Kaye.


  • Suzanne Vega– vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Michael Visceglia –bass, synthesizer
  • Anton Sanko – synthesizers,classical guitar
  • Marc Shulman –electric guitars
  • Stephen Ferrera –drums, percussion
  • Johnny Gordon – guitar
  • Shawn Colvin– backing vocals
  • Sue Evans– percussion, drums
  • Mitch Easter– rhythm guitar
  • Steve Addabbo– guitar
  • Frank Christian– electric guitar
  • Steve Addabbo– producer, recording engineer
  • Lenny Kaye– producer
  • Mitch Easter– producer
  • Rod O’Brien – recording engineer
  • Shelly Yakus– mixing engineer

All tracks by Suzanne Vega, except where noted.

  1. Tom’s Diner
  2. Luka
  3. Ironbound/Fancy Poultry – Suzanne Vega and Anton Sanko
  4. In the Eye – Suzanne Vega and Marc Shulman
  5. Night Vision – Suzanne Vega and Anton Sanko
  6. Solitude Standing – Suzanne Vega, Michael Visceglia, Anton Sanko, Marc Shulman and Stephen Ferrera
  7. Calypso
  8. Language – Suzanne Vega and Michael Visceglia
  9. Gypsy
  10. Wooden Horse (Caspar Hauser’s Song) – Suzanne Vega, Michael Visceglia, Anton Sanko, Marc Shulman and Stephen Ferrera
  11. Tom’s Diner (Reprise)

On December 13, 1975.

Patti Smith - Horses

On December 13, 1975, “Arista” label released “Horses”, the debut Patti Smith  studio album.  It was recorded in 1975, at the “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by John Cale.


  • Patti Smith– vocals, guitar
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums
  • Lenny Kaye– guitar, bass guitar, vocals
  • Ivan Kral– bass guitar, guitar, vocals
  • Richard Sohl– keyboards
  • Tom Verlaine– guitar
  • Allen Lanier– guitar, keyboards
  • Richard Aaron – photography
  • Robert Mapplethorpe– photography
  • Chuck Krall – photography
  • Danny Fields– photography
  • Bob Gruen– photography
  • Bob Heimall – design
  • Sherri Whitmarsh – design

Track listing:

  1. Gloria – Part I: “In Excelsis Deo”; Part II: “Gloria –  Patti Smith (Part I), Van Morrison (Part II)
  2. Redondo Beach – Patti Smith, Richard Sohl, Lenny Kaye
  3. Birdland – Patti Smith, Richard Sohi, Lenny Kaye, Ivan Kral
  4. Free Money – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  5. Kimberly – Patti Smith, Allen Lanier, Ivan Kral
  6. Break It Up – Patti Smith, Tom Verrlaine
  7. Land – Part I: “Horses”; Part II: “Land of a Thousand Dances”; Part III: “La Mer(de) – Patti Smith (Parts I and III), Chris Kenner (Part II), Fats Domino (Part II)
  8. Elegie – Patti Smith, Allen Lanier