Tag Archives: Patti Smith Group

In October 1976.

In October 1976, “Arista” label released “Radio Ethiopia”, the second Patti Smith Group studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Jack Douglas.


  • Patti Smith– vocals, guitar, design
  • Lenny Kaye– guitar, bass, vocals, mixing
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums, percussion, mixing, consultant
  • Ivan Kral– bass, guitar
  • Richard Sohl– keyboards, synthesizer, piano
  • Bob Irwin – mastering
  • Brian Sperber – engineering
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Jay Messina – mixing, engineer
  • Lynn Goldsmith– photography
  • Nancy Greenberg – design
  • Rod O’Brien, Sam Ginsberg – assistant engineer
  • Vic Anesini – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Ask the Angels – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  2. Ain’t It Strange – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  3. Poppies – Patti Smith, Richard Sohl
  4. Pissing in a River – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  5. Pumping (My Heart) – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral, Jay Dee Daugherty
  6. Distant Fingers – Patti Smith, Allen Lanier
  7. Radio Ethiopia – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  8. Abyssinia – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye, Richard Sohl


On May 17, 1979.


On May 17, 1979, “Arista” label released “Wave”, the fourth Patti Smith Group studio album. It was recorded in 1979 at “Bearsville Studios” in New York, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Patti Smith– vocals
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums, consultant
  • Ivan Kral– bass guitar, guitar, cello, keyboards
  • Richard Sohl– piano
  • Lenny Kaye– vocals, guitar, bass guitar
  • Andi Ostrowe – percussion, timpani
  • Todd Rundgren– bass guitar,  engineering
  • Vic Anesini – mastering
  • George Carnell – assistant engineer
  • Tom Edmonds – assistant engineer

Track listing:

  1. Frederick – Patti Smith
  2. Dancing Barefoot – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  3. So you want to Be (a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star) – Jim McGuinn, Chris Hillman
  4. Hymn – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  5. Revenge – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  6. Citizen Ship – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  7. Seven Ways of Going – Patti Smith
  8. Broken Flag – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  9. Wave – Patti Smith

On December 10, 1973.

World renowned East Village club CBGB's faces closure

On December 10, 1973, “CBGB” club was open by Hilly Kristal at 315 Bowery, intersecting Bleecker Street, in the East Village. New York. The name “CBGB” stands for country, bluegrass and blues, Kristal’s original idea but “CBGB” soon became a legend  punk and new wave venue. The Ramones, Television, Patti Smith Group, Blondie, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts and Talking Heads are just some of the bands that performed in the club.

The club closed on October 15, 2006, with the final concert by Patti Smith.