On May 17, 1979.


On May 17, 1979, “Arista” label released “Wave”, the fourth Patti Smith Group studio album. It was recorded in 1979 at “Bearsville Studios” in New York, and was produced by Todd Rundgren.


  • Patti Smith– vocals
  • Lenny Kaye– vocals, guitar, bass guitar
  • Richard Sohl– piano
  • Ivan Kral– bass guitar, guitar, cello, keyboards
  • Todd Rundgren– bass guitar,  engineer
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums, consultant
  • Andi Ostrowe – percussion, timpani
  • Vic Anesini – mastering
  • George Carnell – engineer assistant
  • Tom Edmonds – engineer assistant

Track listing:

  1. Frederick – Patti Smith
  2. Dancing Barefoot – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  3. So you want to Be (a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star) – Jim McGuinn, Chris Hillman
  4. Hymn – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  5. Revenge – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  6. Citizen Ship – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  7. Seven Ways of Going – Patti Smith
  8. Broken Flag – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  9. Wave – Patti Smith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.