Tag Archives: James Rolleston

In October 1972.

In October 1972, “RCA” label released “Bustin’ Out”, the second Pure Prairie League studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “RCA Studios” in Toronto, and was produced by Bob Ringe, Susan Ruskin and Don Wardell.


  • Craig Fuller– bass guitar, electric guitar, vocals
  • George Powell – electric guitar, vocals
  • Billy Hinds – drums
  • David Huchins – guitar
  • Dianne Brooks, Steven Edney – background vocals
  • Al “Brisco” Clark – steel guitar
  • Michael Connor – piano, keyboards
  • Bob Ringe – percussion, marimba
  • James Rolleston – bass
  • Mick Ronson– guitar, background vocals, string arrangements
  • Gary Smith – guitar
  • Art direction: Acy Lehman

Track listing:

All tracks by Craig Fuller, except where noted.

  1. Jazzman – Ed Holstein
  2. Angel No. 9
  3. Leave My Heart Alone – George Powell
  4. Early Morning Riser
  5. Falling In and Out of Love
  6. Amie
  7. Boulder Skies
  8. Angel
  9. Call Me, Tell Me

In July 1973.

In July 1973, “ABC” label released “Countdown to Ecstasy”, the second Steely Dan studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Caribou Ranch” in Nederland, “The Village Recorder” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Gary Katz. The cover painting was by Dorothy White.


  • Donald Fagen– acoustic and electric pianos, synthesizer, lead vocals
  • Walter Becker– electric bass, harmonica, background vocals
  • Denny Dias– electric guitar, mixing
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– electric and pedal steel guitars
  • Jim Hodder– drums, percussion, background vocals
  • Ray Brown– string bass
  • Ben Benay– acoustic guitar
  • Rick Derringer– slide guitar
  • Victor Feldman– vibraphone, marimba, percussion
  • Ernie Watts, Johnny Rotella, Lanny Morgan, Bill Perkins– saxophones
  • Sherlie Matthews, Myrna Matthews, Patricia Hall, David Palmer, James Rolleston, Michael Fennelly– background vocals
  • Engineer: Roger Nichols
  • Assistant engineer: Miss Natalie
  • Album design: Dotty of Hollywood
  • Photography: Ed Caraeff

Track listing:

All tracks by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen.

  1. Bodhisattva
  2. Razor Boy
  3. The Boston Rag
  4. Your Gold Teeth
  5. Show Biz Kids
  6. My Old School
  7. Pearl of the Quarter
  8. King of the World

In April 1972.

In April 1972, “Columbia” label released “Merrimack County”, the tenth Tom Rush album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Tom Rush.


  • Tom Rush- guitar, lead vocals
  • Trevor Veitch- guitar, mandolin, background vocals
  • James Rolleston – bass, background vocals
  • Gary Mallaber- drums, percussion, vibraphone
  • Paul Armia – fiddle
  • Erik Robertson – organ, piano
  • Bill Stevenson- piano
  • Kathryn Moses – flute
  • John Savage – drums
  • Recording engineer: Jay Messina

Track listing:

  1. Kids These Days – Tom Rush, Trevor Veitch
  2. Mink Julip – Tom Rush
  3. Mother Earth – Eric Kaz
  4. Jamaica, Say You Will – Jackson Browne
  5. Merrimack County II – Tom Rush, Trevor Veitch
  6. Gypsy Boy – Bob Carpenter
  7. Wind on the Water – Tom Rush
  8. Roll Away the Grey – Bob Carpenter
  9. Seems the Songs – Tom Rush
  10. Gone Down River – Tom Rush