In May 1981.

In May 1981, “Mango” label released “Red”, the sixth Black Uhuru album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Channel One” in Kingston, Jamaica, and “Compass Point” in Nassau, Bahamas, and was produced by Sly & Robbie.


  • Michael Rose- vocals
  • Derrick “Duckie” Simpson – harmony vocals
  • Puma Jones- harmony vocals
  • Mikey Chung- rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • Radcliff “Dougie” Bryan – lead guitar
  • Barry Reynolds- lead guitar
  • Robert Lynn – piano
  • Keith Sterling- piano
  • Sly Dunbar- drums, syndrums
  • Robbie Shakespeare- bass, piano
  • Ranchie McLean- rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • Uziah “Sticky” Thompson- percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Michael Rose, except where noted.

  1. Youth of Eglington
  2. Sponji Reggae
  3. Sistren – Michael Rose, Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  4. Journey – Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  5. Utterance
  6. Puff She Puff
  7. Rockstone – Michael Rose, Derrick “Duckie” Simpson
  8. Carbine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.