In August 1976.

In August 1976, “Island” label released “Super Ape”, the twelve Upsetters album. It was recorded in 1976 at “Black Ark” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Lee “Scratch” Perry.


  • Lee Perry – percussion, conga
  • Michael “Mikey Boo” Richards – drums
  • Anthony “Benbow” Creary – drums
  • Noel “Skully” Simms– conga
  • Boris Gardiner– bass
  • Earl “Chinna” Smith– guitar
  • Keith Sterling– piano
  • Bobby Ellis– horns
  • “Dirty” Harry Hall, Herman Marquis– horns
  • Vin Gordon– trombone
  • Egbert Evans – flute
  • Prince Jazzbo– toasting
  • Barry Llewellyn, Earl Morgan– backing vocals
  • Tony Wright– cover art

Track listing:

All track by Lee “Scratch” Perry.

  1. Zion’s Blood
  2. Croaking Lizard
  3. Black Vest
  4. Underground
  5. Curly Dub
  6. Dread Lion
  7. Three in One
  8. Patience
  9. Dub Along
  10. Super Ape

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.