On June 14, 1970.


On June 14, 1970, “Warner Bros” label released “Workingman’s Dead”, the fourth Grateful Dead studio album. It was recorded in February 1970, at “Pacific High Recording”  in San Francisco, and was produced by Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor, and Grateful Dead. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 262 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jerry Garcia– vocals, lead and pedal steel guitar, banjo
  • Bob Weir – vocals, co-lead vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan)– vocals, keyboards, harmonica,
  • Phil Lesh– vocals, bass,
  • Bill Kreutzmann– drums, percussion
  • Mickey Hart– drums, percussion
  • David Nelson– acoustic guitar
  • Alembic – engineer
  • Mouse Studios, Toon N Tree – cover photography, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, except where noted.

  1. Uncle John’s Band
  2. High Time
  3. Dire Wolf
  4. New Speedway Boogie
  5. Cumberland Blues – Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh, Robert Hunter
  6. Black Peter
  7. Easy Wind – Robert Hunter
  8. Casey Jones

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.